Looking for a sports watch? Never buy an Apple watch

Sajith Dilshan
3 min readSep 30, 2017

--

Dear Apple,

Couple of weeks ago I bought a Series 2, 38mm Apple watch from Singapore through a friend of mine. Don’t believe me? Here’s the receipt.

Needless to say I was so excited to use the watch, and at first glance it was truly a beauty. I wanted to wear this watch while I was at the gym, while playing badminton, while I was swimming and even during my evening walks.

But my expectations were shattered into pieces during the first week. I was wearing the watch while playing badminton and accidently I hit the watch with my racket. Below is the proof and the current state of the watch. I hit the lower right corner of the watch and the screen cracked into two sections. The best part is that the touch doesn’t even works on the lower part.

After that I knew the water resistance is long gone and sadly I’ve never even got to wear the watch at least once while I was swimming. I was truly astounded and disappointed by the lack of durability of the watch, since it is highly marketed as a sports watch and the Apple watch even has a separate Nike model which is promoted for athletes.

For a company who pays a lot of attention to bring the best quality products at a premium price to their beloved customers, I have no explanation as to why you didn’t make the screen of the Apple watch with more hard and durable material which can endure rough usage and maintain structural integrity.

After this incident I wouldn’t recommend anyone to buy an apple watch, if they are looking for a sports model since clearly you need to get your shit together and come up with a solid, durable watch and please stop deceiving people by saying it is the ultimate sports watch.

Kind Regards,

Sajith

--

--