Becoming a Mosaic of Life

sanatan kafle
2 min readAug 1, 2023

--

I often find myself pondering how I’ve learned certain things without actively seeking to learn them. It amazes me to see how every time a phase in my life changes, I start doing things differently, and how something that I once couldn’t stand becomes an integral part of me without letting me know.

For example, I can’t remember who taught me to measure rice using my finger — it’s something I’ve always done, probably because I saw my mother do it countless times. And I never “learnt-learnt” to make my bed, but it just came to me as a habit over time.

Other habits I have picked up from the people around me. For instance, I eat mangoes by squeezing them and getting every last drop of pulp out, even sucking it with the peel on, because that’s how my grandfather did it. And sometimes, when I listen to a song, someone I haven’t been in touch with for years will flash in front of me, reminding me of a time when we used to listen to that same song together.

It’s not just habits that I’ve picked up from others, my entire way of watching movies has changed because of a friend who introduced me to the idea of watching movies with my own touch of spice. Before, I would just watch movies passively, but now I actively look for ways to engage with the film and make it my own.

All of these experiences have led me to the realization that we are all constantly learning from the people and experiences around us, whether we realize it or not. Our lives are like a mosaic, made up of the many different pieces and influences that shape us into the complex, unique individuals that we are.

It makes me think if I am actually me or Am I just a puzzle made from everyone that once was a part of me. Isn’t this what life is all about?, Learning small bits from everyone, appreciating how beautiful smallest moments can be and just letting things flow.

:)

--

--