Melodies of Resilience: How music helped me at my lowest point

sanatan kafle
3 min readNov 24, 2023

--

Time keeps on drifting and not every day is bright. During my shallowest moments, when I felt overwhelmed and lost, it was music that became my guiding light.

It was the time after my high school when i felt quite dysphoric, nothing made me excited. Everything was dull and meaningless, quite literally but never did i ever show that to anyone but deep under i felt useless. I had actually taken a year gap from my studies to understand what field will suit me the most. Seeing everyone around me living with ‘a purpose’ made me happy for them yet i felt like a disappointment. I did have some people i could talk about it with like a cousin brother of mine and some of my friends but from most people i could sense a feeling of despair when they saw me. The four walls of my room saw me more than ever, i never wanted to leave my room and music resonated inside of me.

The power of music truly resonated with me at the core of my being. It wasn’t just about listening to melodies and rhythms, it was as if music reached deep into my soul and stirred something within me. It ignited a profound sense of longing and a desire to feel. As I immersed myself in the melodies and lyrics, I felt transported to a different dimension — a world where I could create and shape characters of my own. Each song became a portal to a realm of imagination and emotion, where I could explore the depths of human experience and express myself in ways I had never imagined before. Through music, I discovered the ability to tell stories, to paint vivid pictures with words and melodies.

Moreover, Music taught me to appreciate beauty inside little things. Like the moon, the flowers, chocolates, coffees, blessings, love and kindness. The flowers, once mere adornments of nature, now held a profound significance. It was in the quiet solitude of sipping a cup of coffee that I found solace and contemplation.. I could look at the moon, write poems, for hours siting at my table. Everything that seemed to be lifeless started to dance out of joy which is when i wrote a small piece of poem:

“Let us dance in the moon’s silver stream

Bask in the moonbeam of love, as if in dreams”

Whenever I feel sad or dead from inside, Music oozes inside me. Songs like “Mr. Tambourine Man”, “Like a Rolling Stones”, “Knocking on Heavens door”, “Stairway to heaven”, “Under Pressure”, “Roobaro”, “Phir se ud chala” and many many more starts playing inside me in any bit of sadness i feel no matter what the situation be. My coping mechanism has taught itself to sing wherever I’m nervous, sad, happy, blank or whatever the emotion builds inside me.

So, to anyone who finds themselves in the depths of despair, I offer this: let the melodies of resilience be your guide. Embrace the healing power of music, and allow it to carry you through the storm. Trust in its ability to awaken the strength within you, and know that even in your darkest moments, there is a song waiting to be heard.

--

--