Words have power!!

Saly Simon
2 min readMay 30, 2020

--

When you talk to yourself and others, are you looking for the good? If a circumstance comes up that is disguised as bad are you focusing on the negative or reframing it to learn the lesson and become a better person. If a person comes to you complaining about their job, their life or their circumstances do you come along for the negative ride train ride? Or do you help them and yourself get off the train and towards the ride positive direction in life? What you say to yourself and others has a big impact on the outcomes in your life.

For example, the other day I had someone complain to me about the sunny day. Can you believe it? The sunny day and they still complained! They complained it was so sunny that it sucked they have to be inside working. I then responded “well we’re blessed to have jobs to bring in income and ability to afford the basic needs as food, shelter and clothing”. They then turned and looked and me with a smile and said “Oh yes! So very true”.

What words do you use when talking to yourself and others? Do you use extreme words such as “I am angry” when you’re mad? Or do you lessen that energy to “that is a bit annoying.”

Let’s do a quick exercise. Say the words “I AM”and see how you feel. Now say the word “NO”. Does saying the world “NO” feel different? If you’re like me the word felt completely different. “I AM” felt powerful and lighter. “NO” felt like a blockage and it’s the end all. Why does it feel different? Well words actually have a different vibrational energy attached to them. If you don’t believe me, say the words “I CAN!” and say out loud “I CAN’T”. I’m sure you felt something completely different. Having a big vocabulary is very important for success as you know what each word means.

However, just as it is important to have a big vocabulary it is important to know how to switch from using negative words to affirmative words and phrases.

--

--