You’ve MadeMe So Very Happy!

Salsam
5 min readOct 3, 2022

This story is dedicated to Quiques. Quique Sandoval

We have been married seven years. This song came to me in the middle of the night the other night when I woke up at 3 AM. Until I saw the link on YouTube, I did not even realize that it was past tense. I thought it said, “You Make Me So Very Happy.” You have made me very happy and you make me very happy every day. You told me that when we first met. You said, “Feelings come and go. That is why a commitment is important.”

That was a good sign for me, in spite of the fact I was pretty scared of a commitment after a 29 year marriage. My parents were divorced. In fact all of my relatives from the previous generation were divorced, some more than once.

My parents, however, never remarried after their divorce. And I only had one sibling. You had 11 siblings. 10 sisters and 2 brothers. Those are very different childhoods! Except for the chancla aspect. I remember when you said,
“I think you have the white liberal version of my Catholic Hispanic mother.”

--

--

Salsam

Retired educator. Taught music to kids from 1-92. Love reading. Love travel, baking, writing, laughing , connecting with people.