These things make summer better

Salty Lamp
4 min readMay 15, 2023

--

A few ideas to turn your summer from good to amazing

1.A GOOD THRILLER

Japanese people have a tradition of watching horror movies in the summer. The believe is that the goose bumps and chillies you get cools down the hot weather.

Usually I reserve all the good stuff for Halloween. Remember when Haunting of the Hill house came out? That was a blast. But these days, I struggle more and more to find anything binge worthy on Netflix.

What a pleasant surprise when I came across a thriller series of 4 seasons, SERVANT, on apple TV.

Eerie music, fancy town house with many secretive rooms, a babysitter that willingly takes care of a doll as if it’s a real baby, the alarmingly cheerful mother and the demon haunted father…

What happened to the real baby? What is the baby sitter playing at? How many more secrets can this house hold?

I’m only 4 episodes in but already hooked. So I fully intend to move my thriller consuming season to summer. Such fun!

2.CROCS ROCKS

Summer is the time for almost barefeet.

Slippers?

Too exhausting. Those feet both walk and claw. Clawing onto the shoes gives unnatural postures to toes and legs. Don’t even get me started with flip-flops.

Sandals?

High maintenance. Don’t get me wrong, I love my TEVAS and CHACOS. But they can’t scratch this itch.

For a homebody like myself, I’m not planning on adjusting straps and velcro all day long. What if you want to take a shower? The fabrics will get all wet. Pass.

CROCS!

Naturally, I had my eyes on CROCS. These ugly little loafs bridge the two worlds perfectly. Why haven’t I notice them all these years?

Little bumps on the sole gently massages my feet.

The color “bone” nicely compliments my skin tone.

Not too cushy and not too firm.

Looser fit than wearing sandals.

Zero clawing than wearing slippers.

Everything is on point.

Just can’t wait to run on the grass with my dog, walk on the beach with a little bit of sand between my toes, or garden in my back yard that needs a bit more love.

3.EVERBODY NEEDS COLD TREATS

I’m not a fancy person. My husband and I love to eat food truck food.

We recently developed a new love to a Mexican cold treat food truck, sitting next to a collection of other food trucks that serves Korean fried chicken, Indian curry, Mediterranean gyros and so on, while the cold treat spot offers shakes, churros, cones, banana splits.

Is it the hot sauce on the counter, or the bright and provocative food images that intimidated most customers? The crowd that find, perhaps, shrimp exotic? It will forever remain a mystery.

The few times we’ve been to “food truck park”, people gather around Hawaiian BBQ and the bar instead. There wasn’t a line at the cold treat spot.

One time, the weather was pleasantly warm. I said, why don’t we get a shake from the cold treat place? My husband was thrilled at the idea.

It was a beautiful shake. Deliciously green with chocolate sauce spread on the inside, a small mountain of whip cream, and even a warm churro stuck in the middle. I was in awe.

As I pulled out my phone to take a picture, a man passing by was obviously impressed by it.

“WOW! WHAT IS THAT?” He asked comically. We happily told him what it was.

This is not a single incident.

The second time we went there to get shakes, the same thing happened again. A different man saw our shakes, and came over to ask about them. Later a crowd gathered around that food truck and business was booming.

I find it hilarious that so many grown man are the most interested in those colorful sweet deserts. Are they usually too shy to just get a shake for themselves?

Perhaps milkshake is one of the few things barely acceptable for masculine men to express their childlessness.

Nonetheless, cold treats are the blessing of summer and belongs to everyone.

Follow me to support my writing and art!

It means a lot! Thanks!

--

--

Salty Lamp

A student at the school of hard knocks. A lover of life.