Most Heartbreaking Things I’ve Watched This Year

Samantha Alves
9 min readSep 5, 2024

Sometimes, you need a good cry. And these shows and movies definitely delivered in that department. Here’s a list of the most heartbreaking things I’ve watched so far this year, the ones that touched the deepest parts of my soul and will surely stick with me for years to come. I highly recommend any of them if you’re looking for a good cry!

‘Baby Reindeer’ (2024)

Image courtesy of Forbes; Source: Netflix

I’ll start off easy. While Baby Reindeer was an interesting and captivating watch, personally, most of it didn’t do a lot for me emotionally. The only scene I got slightly teary-eyed at was during Donny’s monologue in episode 6. Considering the entire series was based on a real-life situation that happened to Richard Gadd, the monologue was especially emotional, as you could really see how various traumas affected Dunn and, in turn, Gadd. I can imagine it was extremely cathartic for him to perform this scene, and I can’t praise Gadd enough for his vulnerability and openness throughout the entire series. I can’t imagine going through something like that in my real life and then reliving it all over again onscreen. Kudos to Gadd!

‘Fellow Travelers’ (2023)

--

--

Samantha Alves

Samantha Alves is an actor and writer based in Los Angeles, CA. Her interests include movies and TV, books, music, podcasts, and anything entertainment-related.