Password filling still remains a pain point

Samuel Athlan
3 min readNov 29, 2016

--

Find on my blog useful resources to help you navigate in this new era.

Yes, I am sure that you have already encountered this use case when buying the last iPhone 7 and you have to login on every app you have on your phone…

And, sometimes (often), you don’t remember the password you chose ages ago, and you have to click on “I forgot my password”, I am sure you feel dumb to click on it, and you are right to feel like this because you are :)

Actually, did you know that password management company exists ? They can store all your passwords securely ? Have you ever heard of 1password, Dashlane or LastPass ? Personally, I use 1password that allows me to have as much passwords as I want to keep my online life secured. It is encrypted and is everywhere when I need it (on all my Macs, on a Chrome plugin and on my iPhone).

But, the point of today is that, nowadays, it becomes a real pain point to login to different services because there are to much steps to do that (e.g : going to 1password app, then copy the email used, then go to the desired app, then paste the email, then comeback to 1password app and do the same for the password)

It hurts !

But guess what, 1password provide an API that can be used in every app (since 2 years actually), which allows third-party apps to propose 1password directly in the register/login process.

I am now asking every app creators a question : Why ?

  • Why isn’t this automatic on every new app ?
  • Why don’t you care about making this process easy for your customers ?
  • Why haven’t you start by this simple integration ?

There’s a simple room for improvement and I please ask to every Product Manager at every company to implement it as soon as possible :) A warm thank you to Spotify, Slack and Lifx (one of the projects I backed) for having already implemented it.

Slack, Spotify and Lifx have already implemented it

Edit 28/07/2019 : This article has later been syndicated on Startups.co and has been shared over 1000+ times. I add apps that integrated a password management tool it over the time. Since the 1st time this article was published, Apple released iOS 11 with a built-in password manager and the ability to connect our favorite password manager. Pheeeew ! 😇

Do you know apps that have done it already ? Please share it in comments, we will highlight their app developers and Product managers :)

I hope this post gave you another perspective. If you had pleasure reading it, please recommend it.

Let me know what you think in the comments below. I would also appreciate any thoughts on my writing, especially on how to make it better.

--

--

Samuel Athlan

Life Coach | HealthTech Entrepreneur | Content Marketing, Product & Team orga swiss-knife | 👉 www.samuelathlan.com