What I’ve Learnt From Solo-Travel (So Far)

From June-July 2022, I traveled to 7 cities in 3 different countries in Europe, mostly by myself. This is what I learned from that experience.

Samaa Ahmed
7 min readJul 26, 2022

Lesson 1: Do NOT take a suitcase!

Instead: Pack only a carry-on and backpack! Or, if you absolutely must, a very small suitcase!

Although I had read travel blogs, and watched some Travel-With-Me content on YouTube before I left, I — foolishly — did not heed the warnings to travel very lightly while in Europe! I didn’t overpack; I mean, I was staying for 3 weeks, going to different countries, and attending a wedding, so one suitcase wasn’t excessive, but it was inappropriate for the context.

When I arrived in London, I had to lug a 40+lb suitcase on the Tube. Which, if the Tube was anything like the TTC in Toronto, or even the Subway in NYC, would not have been a huge issue. However, the Tube has tons of different lines that, sometimes, you have to change between even in order to go a short distance. Which isn’t terrible in and of itself, but there are almost no elevators and escalators in any of the stations, and some of the lines are 3 or 4 stories underground, so navigating (narrow!) staircases with a big suitcase, in extreme heat, is something I would like to never have to do again, and I would recommend against it to anyone who will listen!

Then, when I got to my AirBnB, I realized it was a walk-up, with incredibly narrow, unsteady, and windy stairs. I was already dreading how I would navigate my way down in a few days, while I was lifting my suitcase up to check-in.

Overall, I was incredibly disappointed with how inaccessible England was — from a lack of ramps, to incredibly narrow and uneven sidewalks, to the lack of benches (and trash cans?!) anywhere, there was a clear disregard for anyone who is not able bodied (reflected in people’s lack of patience and courtesy, as well as city architecture).

I was slightly more prepared for how inconvenient maneuvering around the cities would be once I got to Italy, but it was still a challenge to roll my suitcase across cobblestone streets, on buses, and again, up flights of stairs. However, people in Italy (and in Greece) were much more helpful, and made space for me, and accommodated me when they saw me struggling.

All of the AirBnBs I stayed in had washing machines, and because of how ridiculously hot it was, I ended up doing plenty of laundry: in machines and hand-washing (when I was staying in hotels). And, although I wore everything I had, I realized I only needed about half the amount of what I brought.

Since becoming a minimalist, I have become far less precious about my possessions, and when I realized that certain items weren’t serving me (for example: a dress that was a bit too short, brand new Air Force 1s that hurt my feet, a sunhat that was not as packable as it claimed to be), I simply left them behind. I tried to do so in a conscious way, like donating the dress to Oxfam, asking my friend if she wanted the shoes, and leaving the hat in Greece where it would get used. I also left a few books along the way: one near the Library vending machine in Halifax airport, one with a friend in Rome, and the last one in a student-y area in Athens. Once I had finished reading them, there was no use in carrying them around with me.

Lesson 2: The world is becoming more COVID-safe

I spent the pandemic in Toronto, which had the longest COVID-lockdowns in the world. I have followed all COVID and mask-related procedures very strictly since March 2020. I didn’t leave the Province in over 1.5 years, and I finally went on an international flight, after a full two-and-a-bit years, back in April this year.

Me, since March 2020

When I got to Europe, I was almost scandalized at the lack of masks I saw anywhere. I continued to wear my masks (I wear a cotton one to prevent acne, and then a surgical or N95 one on top) whenever I was indoors, and tried to physically-distance as much as possible.

However, when I was masked-up on a train from Naples to Sorrento, and almost passed out from heat-stroke, I had to make a quick calculation: take off my mask and risk exposure to COVID, or keep it on and most certainly faint. I chose the former.

It was sort of scary, but also very liberating, to take my mask off.

I am triple vaccinated, and I had just gotten COVID (for the first time) about a week before I left for vacation. I knew my immunity was very high, and my likelihood of getting sick was quite low as a result. Despite all of that, I was so habituated to wearing a mask, it was still a bit strange to be without.

But once I took that first step, I felt so relieved.

I still wore my mask on transit, flights, and whenever it was required, but otherwise… I just breathed it all in. And it didn’t feel too bad.

#natureishealing #andbynature #imean #myanxiety

Lesson 3: Spend money on comforts, not objects

I definitely wasn’t “backpacking” my way around Europe. At the age of 31, I am accustomed to certain comforts. But I was trying to be budget-conscious and as thrifty as possible throughout my travels. I stayed in 2-star hotels (in safe areas), took budget airlines (Wizz Air isn’t bad!), and tried to take public transportation whenever possible.

However, a few times, I did spend more than “necessary”. For example, when I was in London, during the train and Tube strikes, I took a taxi to get from my hotel to the train station (I could have taken a bus), which cost me more than I had expected. Similarly, when I was in Rome and had to catch an early flight, I booked a Free Now (European equivalent of Uber) to take me to the airport, because I had heard from many people that the airports were overcrowded and chaotic. Again, this was much more expensive than taking a €2 train.

In these examples, and a few more, I went “over budget”, but it was worth it for the peace of mind.

I didn’t buy much when I was in Europe. I collect souvenir magnets, so I bought those for myself (and my parents and sister) in each city. I bought a Greek towel when I was in Athens, and two books, because I was bored, and wanted to read. In my opinion, these were not superfluous purchases. They were useful and made me happy.

I was tempted to buy some pretty dresses when I was in Plaka in Athens, but then I thought about it, and decided that they weren’t needed. I would much rather put that few hundred Euros towards an experience, or even towards my next travel plans, than to spend them on superficial items.

I spent most of my “discretionary” funds on experiences, like visiting tourist sites, art galleries, museums, and food!

Trestavere, Rome

Lesson 4: Create a budget, but be prepared to exceed it by up to 25%

In the same vein as Lesson 3, a budget is super important to have, but be aware that random things come up, through no one’s fault. It’s always best to have some flexibility (or a buffer) built into your budget, so that if you need to go above, it won’t be debilitating.

Lesson 5: The world is big, magical, and full of wonder

I’ve traveled a lot in my life (a fact I am very thankful for), but this was probably my first solo-trip. I was excited by that, but also a bit nervous. However, I was so pleasantly surprised by how lovely my whole experience was.

I found that people, in general, are very kind. I was able to meet friendly and helpful people in every city that I visited. I visited some of the most gorgeous places I have ever seen, and got to swim in the rocky beaches of the Amalfi Coast, and soak in the crystal clear waters of the Aegean Sea. I ate some of the most delicious food of my life. I really got to savor the pleasures of these new places.

I realized that, in the context of the world, I am small. But I am important. And what a blessing it is to able to experience this planet.

I am planning to go off on my next set of travel adventures in September, with friends this time. We’re booked for Spain, Portugal, and Morocco. I am looking forward to that experience, and sharing more about how I plan for these types of vacations! Stay tuned!

--

--