Reaching Rock Bottom…

Samantha Jacqueline
2 min readFeb 24, 2014

For someone who likes to write as much as I do, this past week definitely proved as a big challenge, as I was met with plenty of unexpected emotions, coming from all angles, it seemed. However, today starts over a brand new leaf, a new lease, and a new day, and best of all, the greatest of opportunities, as I had the chance to learn a lot about myself, and who I was behind closed doors. With the strong continuation, and combination of all of the efforts put forth throughout my long, complicated, and extremely tiring, and empty job search, came brand new disappointments, one after the other, after the other, after the other. However, due to a lot of my high hopes and expectations, the rejection was extra painful this time, and unfortunately, it played out in front of those who I love most. While it was certainly not my intention, to take out my frustrations on my family, or on myself for that matter, like anyone else who has heard the word no, time and time again, I was bound to lose it at some point. And of course, I did. With my “cup runneth over,” there was absolutely nowhere to go, and not a doubt, or even a small, little question in my mind, that I was at my lowest, breaking point. Forget making myself happy and feeling like everyone was proud of me for constantly trying, and trying again, to look for job opportunities, no matter where they came from. Yup, I was that desperate. Tears, and tiny bouts of anger and insecurities, then soon overtook me, as if I were indeed, really and truly, inconsolable. And yes, it’s true, I even admit to not wanting to leave my room, or watch TV, at all! And that says a lot! And for once in my life, it felt as if I didn’t really know who I was, and almost as if I was unrecognizable to my own self. How is that possible, you ask? By reaching rock bottom, and feeling lost on my own journey, and path to success…

…And how did I turn it around? Just by being myself, and slowly, but surely, making sure that my goals were still on track, and simply, with just finding that balance, and that moment, to gain a real sense and true level, of what my happiness used to be. Now, my fingers are crossed, and my motivation stays the same, with my luck, hopefully and willingly, changing for the better…

…Are you with me?

…Stay tuned.

--

--