15 DUNKIN DONUTS TIPS AND TRICKS

Samantha Lupo
7 min readJul 21, 2016

--

First off I’d like to say I worked at Dunkin donuts for a couple of years throughout high school and, well, I’ve picked up a couple of secrets and tips over time!

1. FLAVORS/SUGAR/CREAMER

A lot of people do not know how the flavors work….by that I mean the people don’t understand that sweetened flavors are sweet and the unsweetened flavors are unsweetened… Yeah, really, it happens all the time. Someone once ordered a small coffee with caramel, and naturally, doing my job, I asked “sweet or unsweet”…… -_- …. “Unsweet” … “cream or sugar” … “no thanks” …..*makes coffee no cream, no sugar*… *sips coffee* “this is terrible, it’s not sweet at all”….. ¿?What¿?

People, the unsweet flavors are not sweet, AT ALL. The sweet flavors are really sweet. A small coffee gets two pumps of flavor, a medium gets three, and a large gets four. When you ask for extra flavor, it is going to make it even more sweet. Mind = blown.

Speaking of flavors, if you get two flavors mixed together they do not double it, they split the flavor amounts. Example: small coffee with hazelnut and French vanilla….. Usually with one flavor it would be two pumps of the same, for split flavors, it would be one of French vanilla and one of hazelnut.if you get three flavors, well that’s gross, don’t do it, unless the third happens to be unsweet. Then I guess it’s okay.

On another note of serving sizes, a small coffee gets 2 sugars/creams medium gets 3, and a large gets 4. All the measurements are done by machines.. So no, you can’t have 3 1/2 sugars… unless you tip me. Because it’s a hassle to open a packet of sugar and dump half of it into your stupid coffee.

2. ALL DUNKINS ARE DIFFERENT.

There are some stores that that may have different donuts and or may have the same donuts but call them different names. There are some stores that have almond milk, skim milk, 2%, and creamer but most stores don’t have almond milk ;( …..

The sugar options are your normal sugar, Splenda, Sweet N’ Low, and Equal. I haven’t heard of any stores having much else… other than “Raw Sugar”. That’s the kind that is brown and it comes in a brown package… If you didn’t already know….very good.

FYI prices are different at almost every store.

3.GIRL SCOUT COOKIE COFFEE.

Soo ever since I was little, Girl Scout cookies have been my favorite. I was and still am in love with SAMOAS!!!! And if you don’t know what I’m talking about, I hate you. Jk. But seriously….. I’m talking about the caramel coconut cookies drizzled with chocolate…

WELL next time you’re at the good ole DD ask for an iced/hot coffee with the sweetened caramel, and the unsweetened coconut. Sugar and cream to your taste. I usually just get cream because the sweetened favors are pretty sweet themselves.

When you go to order this, and you absolutely will, ask for : a _____ coffee/ latté with caramel swirl and the unsweet coconut with __ cream and __ sugar. With whipped cream, if you want!

4. RASPBERRY WHITE CHOCOLATE COFFEE

Occasionally dunkin donuts will have their white chocolate flavor, (sweetened). They also (almost always) have their raspberry (unsweet) flavor! Together…. Omg so good. Also just a reminder, I don’t get sugar in my coffee, so your taste might be different than mine.

If you wanna try this order like so : can I please have a _____ coffee/latté with white chocolate and the unsweet raspberry with __ cream and __ sugar.

5. PUMPKIN CHI LATTÉ

Dunkin Donuts has their very own chi latté and it’s amazing all on its own.(only comes in a size medium). BUT try it with pumpkin…. It is literally to DIE for.

I like to go the extra mile and add a turbo shot (espresso) to mine!!

SO when you go to order this cup of heaven here’s what to say : can I please have a chi latté with pumpkin (and a turbo shot if desired) with whipped cream.

You’re welcome.

6. CINNAMON

Quite a few dunkin donuts locations have cinnamon… I would definitely ask just in case, it’s really nice to have a sprinkle of cinnamon on the whipped cream that tops off your latté…. Plus it makes for one hell of a Instagram #photoopp.

7. CINNAMON PUMPKIN W/ VANILLA

Some dunkin donuts stores have a cinnamon flavor (unsweet) and it is so good mixed with the pumpkin (sweet). To make things even better, you can add the vanilla bean flavor. This tastes soo good, it’s a sweet pumpkin vanilla flavor with a kick of cinnamon.

When asking for this drink, first ask if they have the unsweet cinnamon flavor and then order like so : can I please have a ___ coffee/latté with (cinnamon flavor), pumpkin, and vanilla BEAN, with __sugars and __ creams and of coarse with whipped cream!

8. VANILLA

There are TWO types of vanilla. There is a vanilla bean and a French vanilla.

The vanilla bean is similar to a vanilla taste like Starbucks vanilla.

The French vanilla has a more sharp vanilla taste.

Huge difference.

9. ORANGE CREAMSICLE COOLATTA

I will never have anything that tastes so much like a orange creamsicle, anywhere else!!!

For all you who don’t know what a Coolatta (cool- ah-tu) not (cool-latté) or (cool-la-tee) is, it’s almost exactly like a slushie/frappuchino.

Soo when you order this, say : can I please have a __ Coolatta with the orange Minute Maid and the vanilla BEAN. With whipped cream.

10. MUNCHKINS

These little babies are 24 cents each…. (At most locations) and I’ll tell you what, four of these are about equal to a donut. The catch is, they are more filling, and they have so much more flavor than the actual donut… I promise.

If you’re ever at a dunkin donuts and they have blueberry munchkins, BUY THEM, BUY THEM ALL. Soooo good and so much flavor!

11. BAGELS AND CREAM CHEESE

7 out of 10 people will order just a plain bagel with cream cheese.

BE ADVENTUROUS!!!!

Most dunkin donuts have multiple flavors of cream cheese….. Reduced fat (not a flavor, but it’s an option), Blueberry, strawberry, veggie (personal fav), and chive. Some stores might even have others but this is what I know of.

If you’re a drive-thru type of person, you may not know the different types of bagels!!! So many options! I’m not going to list them all but my two favorites are the Pepper Jack Supreme Bagel with reduced fat cream cheese, and the Multigrain Bagel with Veggie cream cheese.

Also a customer favorite is the Blueberry Bagel with Strawberry cream cheese. Never tried it personally but a lot of people order it!

12. SANDWICHES

Most people probably already know this but you can get any type of bread on any of the sandwiches…. I usually like the veggie egg white on an everything bagel, so good! It usually comes with the flatbread which really just dries up my mouth too much and has a really bland taste.

There are not only bagels to swap out but, croissants, rolls, pretzel rolls, English muffins, biscuits, and in some stores they might even use two donuts as your buns…. If you ask nicely. Like I said previously, all stores are different so some might not have some of the options I just listed, but it is always worth a try!!!

13. GET THE APP.

If you do not use the app and go to dunkin donuts often, I probably hate you. FREE COFFEE AND COUPONS ya big dummy! Download the app to your smart phone and get points for every thing you buy, and get free coffee. Duh.

I honestly spend 10–15$ a week on coffee. So basically every week I get a free drink.

FYI it’s not a free coffee you get, it’s a free drink, ANY size. Very important.

Plus who doesn’t like free stuff.

14. DUNKIN DONUTS MUGS.

Next time you are in a dunkin donuts, buy a cup/mug/thermos. DUNKIN donuts offers refills for cups. Some stores offer them for free, some for 99 cents, and so on. It is totally worth it! If you live off of coffee like I do, it will save you almost 20$ a week. (I get coffee twice a day about everyday, saving me 2–5$ a day)

Plus they’re super cute!!! Check them out yourself with the link below.

15. SAMPLE A DONUT FOR FREE

Most people don’t know it but if there is a donut that you haven’t tried or are interested in trying, you could totally sample it for free! All you have to do is ask! (Only at participating locations)

DO NOT be the ass hole who just asks to sample a donut for free with no intent on buying an actual donut… that’s annoying. Plus they’re only 99 cents.

Thank you so much for reading, I hope I helped you out a bit, maybe even gave you a little chuckle, probably not, but maybe, and I hope you will try some of the different things I listed. There is a lot more where that came from so please give me your feedback, I’d love to know what you think and if you want to read more!

--

--