How I Got My First Developer Job Without a CS Degree

Samantha Ming
3 min readJul 18, 2018
Me speaking at Langara College

Had such a fun time speaking to the students of Langara College. I talked about my experience of finding my first developer job after graduating from a programming boot camp without a Computer Science degree. Thank you so much Jacob Tran for inviting me. Can’t wait to do it again!

Here is my advice:

  1. ✅ Attend Networking Events
  2. ✅ Practice your Algorithms
  3. ✅ Be Kind to your Classmates!

Advice #1 — Attend Networking Events 🤝

The best way to land an interview is to put your face on your resume. I don’t mean literally lol. I mean you need to be more than just a name to the recruiters. If they know “who” you are, they’re more likely to give you that interview. How? Go to networking events and actually meet them and talk to them. That way when they do see your resume, they’ll have some familiarity. And you don’t have to be meeting just the recruiters. Anyone working at the company can be your gateway into the organization. So be nice to everyone!

C’mon does networking actually work? Yes it does! I got two job offers after I graduated without even applying. And I did it through networking. It may seem like I’m tooting my own horn. Fine, I am 😜 But that’s because I want you…

--

--

Samantha Ming

Frontend Developer sharing weekly JS, HTML, CSS code tidbits🔥 Discover them all on samanthaming.com 💛