Athlete

Sam Chou
Cogito, ergo sum
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2018

I was an athlete from 2000–2015, that was a unique experience for me. It gave me intangible fuels to go further in my life.

I joined many competitions such as High Jump, Long Jump, Shot Put, 100 Meters Hurdles and 1500 Meters. Specifically, I want to talk about the high jump. The rule is simple, we only need to jump over a crossbar. However, when I started training, I realized that I need to push my boundaries physically and mentally. To win the game, I need to pass the crossbar that is higher than my height. That was my fear, I was afraid that I would hit the crossbar and fall on the ground again. I realized my biggest enemy was myself. I couldn’t remember how many times I have tried to convince myself that the crossbar was not terrifying, I must cross it. However, every time the fear of falling overpowers my confidence, there is a high chance of me falling and have new bruises on my body.

Success is a process, during that journey, we take the stones people throw at and use them to build a monument. I started to train my way of thinking and reinforce my confidence every day. Competitions are mind games, in the end, it’s the extra effort you put in that separates gold from silver. It takes desire, determination, discipline, patient and sacrifice. Put all these together, and even if you don’t win, how can you lose?

--

--

Sam Chou
Cogito, ergo sum

I am Taiwanese living and working in Singapore. I like reading, thinking and writing.