Focus on Impression Tour at Paul J. Getty Museum for everyone, anywhere.

Sameera Gupta
12 min readSep 9, 2017

I recently got to visit LA and the PJGM. It was an experience that I will cherish for a very long time. I have been to museums and heard tour guides and their stories so many times but none that inspired and interested me like the one at PJGM. Given that our guide was a very motivated and articulate Art History Professor this should have not been a surprise but it was! I want everyone out there to have the same experience and hear the same stories that I did. I am not going to write this post by just taking what the the professor said but will add what I know about the art work and try to make it as informational as possible.

A lot of art in museums in India depict mythological and religious characters. I often wondered why people didn’t consider their own day to day life important enough to be painted and expressed. Surely the cave painters wanted to tell us their story but somewhere along the way the kings, the temples and the Mahabharata and Ramayana took precedence over the day to day life. But each one of us has a story to tell and some of these stories are worthy of being heard by many. These thoughts of mine strongly resonate with the impressionists and I was glad to know that!

When the artists from the Renaissance period were busy painting Biblical and Mythological characters the Impressionists wanted to express their own life as they considered it to be more important.

--

--