My first job interview experience

Sameer Singh
3 min readSep 25, 2020

--

Interview experience Unthinkable Solutions

It wasn’t my first interview, I had already given some internship interviews and worked for around 8 months as an intern with different technologies. But this was my first job interview.

Due to this pandemic situation, there were not many companies coming to my private college. Everyone started preparing for jobs from the month of June. On the other hand, I was pursuing my internship for the last six months and my internship ended in the month of July and after that instead of preparing for my interview, I started working on my personal projects and following my passion for a software developer.

On August 31st, 2020: I got an email from my college regarding a placement drive and asked me to join the Pre-Placement Talk. Over there, I got to know about Unthinkable Solutions which is a child company of Daffodil Software.

On September 8th, 2020: It was the first coding round. It’s been months since I last solved any competitive programming questions. I was able to solve 2 out of 3 questions on HackerEarth. I thought I failed and started working on my competitive programming skills.

On September 9th, 2020: I got a mail from my college that I got another chance and I will be giving a second coding round. Some of my colleges were good and, they got selected for the interview rounds. Out of 400+ students, 11 were selected for a direct interview, while 14 students including me had to go through a second coding round. This time I was prepared.

On September 10th, 2020: I got two questions on HackerEarth of moderate difficulty and I was able to solve them quite easily.

On September 12th, 2020: It was the day when I had to show how valuable I can be to the company. The interview consists of 2 technical and 1 HR round.

Round 1 (Technical Interview 1): It was around 5 PM when my turn came. First, they asked me about myself and after that, they said that your resume contains so many skills. So, I told them that I was a Techie from start and I love to learn new things. Then the interviewer started asking questions from Data Structures & Algorithms. I was able to answer each and every question except one because my interviewer had around 5 years of experience in JAVA and when I failed to answer that question, he explained to me the answer. After that, I got some questions based on my personal projects & skills which I answered.
After my first round, I got a call from HR that I have been selected for a second round.

Round 2 (Technical Interview 2): It was around 10 PM when my second round started. First, they asked me about myself and then gave me a code to write. I got stuck at a point where the interviewer guided me and after completing the code I was not able to decrease its time complexity.
I thought that I won’t be able to make it to the HR round, but at 11:30 PM, I got my call for the HR round.

Round 3 (HR Interview): I was ready for my HR round, there were two people asking me questions. They asked me about myself, then they ask me about my internships & what kind of projects I had worked on. I had worked on a lot of projects and I was ready to explain each & every project, but it was very late. So, I explained some of my best projects. Then they asked me to explain any two of my personal projects. After explaining them, they asked me a few questions from my internship as well as my personal project which I answered them. After that, the HR told me about my salary structure, and with all that, my interview was ended and the next day, I got my offer letter.

It was a great experience and I think my first interview was the most valuable interview which made me qualify for the HR round.

--

--

Sameer Singh

Blogger || Upcoming Jr. Associate at Unthinkable Solutions|| Former SDE Intern at OKLI Pvt. Ltd and Former WordPress Developer Intern at Expert Web ||