Internship at Jotform | Week 1

Samet Arda Erdogan
3 min readJun 24, 2022

--

Hi, I am Arda, I started my 4-week internship program as a Data Analyst Intern at Jotform on June 20. I will share my experiences, feelings, and thoughts with you objectively every week.

Week 1: Orientation

The first week is over (it was one of the fastest weeks of my life). With the presentations, we had the opportunity to get to know many teams (Growth, Security, marketing, and so on) and ask them questions. I’ve already set up our development environments and launched my first app.

However, above all;

What is Jotform?

According to the Jotform’s LinkedIn About page;

“Trusted by over 15 million users worldwide, Jotform’s powerful forms and suite of no-code tools are flexible enough for small businesses and robust enough for enterprises”

Well, what’s the meaning of Jotform according to me

While working at Jotform, I feel inside a giant living organism. I liken Jotform to the organism in the “Swarm” episode of “Love, Death & Robots”. Every job/issue is carried out in an organized way and everyone knows what to do.

off-the-record: I could not see this pretty much in the other companies I have spoken to/worked with before. That’s why every time I spend on Jotform is incredibly enjoyable and educational.

“If you know your product well enough you will perfect it”

The first and most important thing to do to develop a product is to get to know it. In this way, we can see its faults, optimize it more, and feel belonging to it.

“feel belonging to it”. It’s tough to put this sentence together, but this is the key to perfecting the product. The more you feel belonging to something, the more you try to protect/develop it.

The most important thing I learned this week at Jotform was that it was important to get to know the product. And we have been given the tasks that we have to do for this. By doing these tasks, I got tons of information about the product we will develop.

I used “Form Builder” and “PDF Editor” products. The assigned tasks were to solve real customer problems with products. And I completed it. Moreover, if you make a good enough project, it can be published on Jotform’s template page.

First-Day Project

After installing the necessary development environments, I published an app on Jotform’s RDS (Remote Developer Server) server.

They wanted this project from all developer interns, and for those who couldn’t, there were two days of support on zoom. Apart from zoom, a separate correspondence channel was established for the questions of the interns and they continued to help from there.

Technologies/terms I used in this project; Linux, WSL, SFTP Configuration, SSH, Database, React JS, API, Github, pnpm (package manager)

Mentor Support

Providing mentor support during the internship is a very important detail. We learn very quickly that it is so easy to find someone who can answer your every question and want to help you. My mentor was announced this week and she is truly experienced in my field. I can’t wait to work with her.

My Internship Project

My Internship Project has been announced. “Pricing Page Funnel”. Honestly, I had no experience with this, but it is much better for me. I immediately googled the barrage of questions and created a general roadmap in my mind. I wrote down many things such as my ideas, “what I can do”, “what I can’t do, and why I can’t do it”, etc.

Next week, I will share these notes with my mentor and get feedback.

THANKS

As an intern, we don’t feel that we are worth much, but we do at Jotform :)

The reason we feel this is because of a very well-prepared internship program. And the HR team that always listens and helps us. I’m not sure how accurate it would be to give a name, but I would like to thank everyone who contributed.

--

--