blog 10

Samika Iyer
2 min readOct 30, 2023

--

What did you do this past week?

I honestly have taken a little bit of a break since our last big phase ended, it felt like a lot of work and we still have a bit of time before this next phase is due. I did sit down with a member of my group and we looked through the rubric and started dividing up the main things that need to be done within our group.

What’s in your way?

Currently, I don’t think there is anything specific that is preventing me from progressing in the project.

What will you do next week?

I will work with someone in my group to start implementing filtering on our backend. I guess for this one we would need to be specific on which attribute we are filtering by and the criteria that we are using to select based on that attribute.

What did you think of Paper #10. Why getter and setter methods are evil?

I understood the purpose that the paper was trying to explain with not exposing the implementation of the classes that you are writing, especially if you want to change the way that you are storing data. However, I feel like there are some situations where the whole point of a class is to store certain information, and the client should definitely be able to have getters and setters.

What did you think of select, project, cross_join, and theta_join?

I thought that they are really helpful, especially that the logic seems really applicable to the type of filtering, sorting, and searching that we need to be doing for the next phase.

What made you happy this week?

I liked all the Halloween plans that I had going on. It was a fun weekend.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to meet with your group in person to divide up the work at the beginning of each phase. After a while, when things get stressful, it is nice to know who is in charge of what.

--

--