Escape Room: Drawers & Doors

Samantha Gittemeier
3 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

The next mechanic that shows up in my escape room is the Drawers & Doors. The summary for this being “Drawers and Doors are great places to hide things. And they also serve as great targets for locks. Setup and use a few in your Scenario. There is already one setup with a Hinge to fall open when it’s Rigidbody is no longer Kinematic. You can uses hinges or animations to control your drawers and doors opening.” This also had the following requirements:

  1. Use the Cabinet door as part of your Scenario
  2. Setup more of the Doors and Drawers to open and close

So there were two different ways I utilized the doors and drawers in my escape room. One way in which I simply set an animation trigger with an interactable event such as a switch or lever. As shown below I simply used the Animator > Set Trigger option and input the name of the trigger I wanted to be set off and this would cause the animation to play opening whatever door or drawer it was assigned to.

The other setup was to manually open the doors or drawers using the Configurable Joint and Fixed Joint components. For this I simply has a drawer that was the parent of a handle object. The drawer itself used a Rigidbody and a Configurable Joint which was customized to provide the desired behavior for the drawer. More details for this can be found in my Getting A Handle On Things article from my introductory Pentathalon project. Then on the handle object I added a Rigidbody, a Box Collider, and an XR Grab Interactable component.

To set this up to work together the handle had the Rigidbody from the drawer assigned to its Connected Body on its Fixed Joint component. Then the Box Collider was set to where I wanted to be able to grab the handle. The Grab Interactable was then set to only interact with the Direct Interactor layer using the Interaction Layer Mask setting we’ve used a few times now. Then I assigned its own Box Collider under the Colliders list. This would then allow me to open the drawer or doors manually. Using either of these two methods I was able to setup any and all drawers and doors I wanted to use in my escape room! Psst, you can download and play it yourself by vising my Portfolio!

--

--