Oh, about my neck lift.

Sam Rubin
13 min readOct 8, 2018
Before (February ’18) and After (October ‘18)

If one's eyes are the window to the soul, and if the face is the frame, the entire picture you present to the world is basically from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin. It has more or less worked for me and on television no less, every single weekday since 1991.

I am not going to win any “most handsome”contest, and that has never been my desire nor expectation. One thing that does happen when you are on television for a such a prolonged period of time, is that your physical appearance changes, you age, in many cases you thicken, you can’t really expect to beat Father Time.

Over the last several years, I noticed I was getting a little extra paunchy, especially around my neck, below my chin. My dress shirt sized increased. Little by little, but slowly and surely….15 1/2 became, 16 then 16 1/2, to 17 and finally 17 1/2. I always knew a few tricks, if the camera shooting me was raised up higher and the camera was pointing slightly downward, that could shave off a little bit. In fact, one studio facility I would often use would have a red-line drawn high up on the base of the camera, and that red line was labeled — “the Sam level.”

Like many morning TV shows, we would often have on “experts” in fitness and in beauty, and even in plastic surgery. The fitness people would always say the same thing quoting the exact same number, “85% of…

--

--

Sam Rubin

KTLA Anchor, ITV United Kingdom & NINE Network Australia, Multi-Emmy Award-winning Journalist & recipient of the Golden Mike for Best Entertainment Reporter