Unveiling My Goldman Sachs Summer Internship

Samridhi Pramanik
3 min readAug 24, 2023

--

Finally, it’s the time of the year when applications for the summer internship program begin! Last year, I got the chance to intern at Goldman Sachs in New York, and I’m really excited to walk you through my journey. Who knows, you might be walking through the doors of GS as their newest intern this coming summer!

Goldman Sachs, 200 West St, NY
Goldman Sachs, New York

My Application Journey:

  • Application: I submitted my application for the Summer Analyst position towards the end of August. You can look it up here.
  • Online Assessment: This stage comprised two coding challenges.
  • HireVue Interview: Roughly two weeks after the assessment, I was invited for a HireVue interview, which had 3–4 behavioral questions. A tip: Dress to impress!
  • Superday: This was the most exhilarating part of the selection process. I underwent two interview rounds. The first focused on my resume and included technical and probability-based questions. The second was a coding interview where I was live coding and explaining my logic to the interviewers.

How did I prepare?

To gear up for the internship, I practiced a variety of LeetCode problems, including 10–15 questions for each data structure, with a majority of easy to medium and a few hard problems. Also, it’s essential to thoroughly research Goldman Sachs, understand its operations, and identify what specifically ignites your enthusiasm about joining the GS team.

Internship Insights:

The internship kicked off with a heartwarming welcome, highlighted by a talk from David Solomon, who shared his inspiring journey. I landed in the asset management division and got a chance to learn about how things work in finance and trading. We were working on a new project and I got an opportunity to brainstorm project design along with senior engineers and VPs. It was truly inspiring to work with a team that was consistently supportive and helpful throughout my journey.

At the end of my internship, all interns had a final presentation. Our entire team, despite their jam-packed schedules, made it a point to attend. Some even dashed in, coffee in hand, just to make it on time. It truly showed the team spirit at Goldman Sachs!

Building Connections and Enjoying Perks:

  • Karaoke Kickoff: The team's welcome bash was epic — a karaoke night in NYC! I showcased my singing prowess, and to my delight, even saw my MD groove to some tunes!
  • Coffee Chats: We had coffee chats to mingle with colleagues from various divisions, gaining insights into their projects and networking beyond our teams.
  • Women in Tech: I was paired with a mentor from the Women in Tech initiative and attended several events where inspiring women shared their journeys.
  • Scavenger Hunt: GS operates two offices in New Jersey and one in New York, connected by a ferry free for employees. During the scavenger hunt at the New York office, the final clue led us to the NJ office, requiring a ferry ride to clinch the win! Roaming between the offices to find clues made the game even more fun!

And that’s not all — we also had a blast at a bowling night, scored invites to catch a Yankees game, engaged in a captivating McLaren talk, and joined in on many more fun-filled activities!

Me taking a spin in the McLaren simulator car!👻
Me taking a spin in the McLaren simulator car!👻🏎️💨

What an incredible journey it was! Diving deep into the intersection of tech and finance, I had the privilege of learning from some of the industry’s finest. With a team that felt like family, every moment was a blend of joy, growth, and sheer passion. Truly, an experience I’ll cherish forever! 🚀🤝

--

--