Seeking Stability and Calm in Tools

A look back at the technology and software I used in 2019

Sam Spurlin
3 min readDec 16, 2019

Looking back on the technology I used in 2019 the word that most comes to mind is, “unsettled.” This is surprising to exactly nobody who has followed my writing for any length of time, as a frequent theme of mine is wrestling with two fundamentally different approaches to software: Default Only and Using The Best. 2019 found me flip-flop between these two polarities a couple times.

On the one hand, I think this is partly a result of Apple continuing to push the capability of their default offerings forward. I went for large swaths of 2019 using the basic Apple apps across all my devices. What they lacked in customization and power features they made up for in hardware integration (think streaming the Podcast or Music apps on my Apple Watch) and psychological “purity” (“I’m using all Apple stuff so everything *should* work really, really well.”)

On the other hand, I spent almost as much time using my tried and true toolkit of premium third-party apps where the vast majority were either paid for up front or required an active subscription. When I was in this mode I felt like I had crafted a working environment where every tool was helping remove friction from my life even if they weren’t as deeply integrated to the actual hardware that I like to use.

The see-saw year eventually found me landing on the latter (the Using The Best mindset) as what I’m going into 2020 with. As much as I love the “purity” (I really don’t like that word because of what I feel like it’s saying about me as a complete Apple lackey but I’m having trouble finding a better one…) of going with all first party software Apple just had too bad of a year with their software quality across the iOS 13, iPad OS, and macOS Catalina launches for me to feel safe about that. Additionally, I’ve decided that part of what I love about using Apple hardware is all the great third-party apps that either give me functionality that Apple’s apps can’t or broadens the hardware’s usefulness into niche situations where Apple doesn’t have a solution. I want to make sure that ecosystem stays viable and vibrant. If I only use first-party apps that means I’m not helping those small companies and indie developers who make software I love stay in business.

Ultimately, that means I’m going into 2020 with this basic stack:

  • iPhone 11, iPad Pro 10.5, 27” iMac
  • Notes: Bear
  • Writing: Ulysses
  • Calendar: Fantastical
  • Task Management: Things
  • Email: Airmail
  • Read Later: Instapaper
  • Habit Tracking: Streaks
  • Podcasts: Overcast
  • Music: Spotify
  • Password Management: 1Password
  • Weather: Carrot Weather
  • Twitter: Tweetbot
  • Drawing & Handwritten Notes: GoodNotes
  • Books: Mostly Apple Books but still a bit of Kindle
  • Maps: Apple Maps
  • Journaling: Day One
  • RSS: Unread (with Feedly as backend)
  • Key Utilities: AutoSleep, Deliveries, TV Time, PCalc, Nomorobo, Unread, Flighty, GG, Apollo, UpHabit, Timery, Calm, Bobby, Grocery, and Notion

I feel like this is the software that allows me to most smoothly move through the world and have the impact that I want to have. If there’s something on this list that you’d like me to write about in more detail please let me know in the replies below.

At the end of 2020 I want to be able to pull up this article and think to myself, “Yep, that’s basically what I used all year.” I don’t want to get back on the see-saw that I spent much of 2019 on. I know I’ll have to resist the siren call of the default apps around WWDC and the launch of iOS 14 when the allure of new features and updated first-party apps will be the strongest… but at least until then I want to move forward without ever thinking about what software I’m going to use to do my work.

What about you? What does your tech stack look like going into 2020?

My name is Sam and I write about technology, work, and the better use of our attention. If you like these sorts of things, you should subscribe to my newsletter. It’s called The Deliberate.

--

--