What Making a Cup Of Tea Taught me about Functional Programming.

Sam Fare
5 min readApr 7, 2019

Like most people, I have a hard time understanding Functional Programming. Following the same path as many others. I spent hours scratching my head watching youtube, reading blogs and attending talks. All in aid off a finding better understanding.

But, In a surprise twist. The thing that joined all the confusing dots together was not an oracle of our craft, Nor was it hours of study. Instead, it was something that, as a Mancunian¹, I do a lot.

Make Tea

Before you think I’ve gone nuts, let me ask you a question.

How do you make a cup of tea?

Well making a cup of tea has a few steps. To start with, Lets put some water in a kettle. On a flow diagram you can represent this step like this:

Once the water is in the kettle, we can put the kettle on boil. Let’s represent that like this:

--

--