My Experience Passing the “FREE” ISC2 Certified in Cybersecurity (CC) Certification

Cyber Sam
6 min readDec 13, 2023

This is a quick run down of this free cybersecurity certification from ISC2. A great introductory certificate for anyone interested in cyber or wants to improve their existing cyber skills. The company I work for recommended I take the exam to get me up to speed with cybersecurity. This article will detail what I did to pass the cert including resources. I would like to caveat that the certificate is not entireley free.

In terms of start to finish for myself , I signed up for a free account with ISC2 at the beginning of October 2023 which includes a free self paced online course and voucher code for a free exam. I passed the exam at the beginning of December of the same year, and received my Certificate a week later.

For the exam there are 100 multiple choice questions which you have 2 hours to answer and require 70% or more to pass.

1- Course Content

There is an online training program run by ISC2 which is a combination of articles, videos and podcasts that coverthe topics that will be contained in the final examination questions. There are end of section multiple choice questions and “mock” practice exams at the beginning and end of the course. I will caveat whilst these were the only exam style questions available from within the ISC2 course they were not to the same standard of difficulty that appeared on the exam.

2- Exam Preparation

--

--