Using Virustotal to Scan a Malicious URL

Cyber Sam
3 min readDec 30, 2023

Link: virustotal.com

Virustotal is an online tool that can be used to scan files and URL. We are predominantly going to check out the URL feature of this site. Users can copy and paste any url into the site and virustotal will go and check it against 70 antivirus scanners and URL/domain blocklisting services, in addition to a myriad of tools to extract signals from the studied content. URLs can be copied and pasted directly into the site.

Let’s have a go

I received this email into my spam a week ago

Now from my years of receiving training phishing emails I know not to click on that link. I have also redacted my email address. Even from the outset we can see that the link is http and not https which is already a red flag.

Searching on Visrustotal is and easy process. Just C&P the link and then hit enter:

The tool takes a second to cross check against the 70 antivirus scanners. For this url the tool comes…

--

--