Dice Designer Pre-Project Update

Samuel Cohen
2 min readJul 29, 2020

--

My name is Samuel Cohen and this is how I single-handedly designed, developed, and launched a website where you can customize a die and have it 3D printed in 30 days. Below is a project update post. If you wish to read more about the project, the landing page is here.

I decided to split my documentation between business and technology development. I formatted the landing page in a way that the project can be understood even if the technical element is ignored. I did this because people who aren’t technically inclined won’t be interested in the technical aspects, so they can focus on the business.

Content Plans

I plan to create three videos and several blog posts based on the tech-tools that I worked with.

Videos

  1. Project Overview
  2. Custom Experience
  3. Technical Overview
  4. Business Overview
  5. Blog Post Explanation Video

Blog Posts

  1. Creating Dice Faces Using Adobe Illustrator
  2. Modeling a Dice in Blender
  3. Coding a Color Customizer in ThreeJS
  4. Modeling a Physical Dice in Fusion 360
  5. 3D Printing a 2 Colored Dice
  6. Starting a Business
  7. Using Woocommerce
  8. Color and Pricing Rationale
  9. Fulfillment Post

Time Management

In order to have a functioning business by the end of the month, I needed to make sure that my time was well-spent.

I used a combination of Trello and Google calendar to organize my time.

Since I am working third shift, I was able to chunk the majority of my work into two 8-hour sections. During this time I focus mainly on coding the website and left the documentation for later. This setup functions, but I find myself working on the website too much and neglecting the documentation.

I discovered early that the website would take the bulk of my time.

Plans for Each Week

Week 1(July 1–7)

  • Build Dice Customizer
  • Create Model in Blender
  • Create Javascript Color Customizer
  • Prepare Dice Model and Process for 3D Printing
  • Create LLC
  • Buy Domain
  • Trello Setup for Project Management
  • Create Project Landing Page
  • Write Week 1 Project Recap

Week 2(July 8–14)

  • Transfer Current Code to New Domain
  • Optimize Code for Final Product
  • Facilitate Checkout Handoff
  • Ensure Design and Checkout Function
  • Fill Website Content
  • Write Week 2 Project Recap

Week 3(July 15–22)

  • Finalize and Optimize Web Design
  • Write Week 3 Project Recap
  • Write First 3 Technical Documentation Posts
  • Write First Business Post

Week 4(July 23–28)

  • Website Soft Launch
  • Write Week 4 Project Recap
  • Write Remaining Blog Post
  • Film Final Videos
  • Finalize Project Write-up

Conclusion

Now that I have everything planned we can move into week 1.

Check Out the Website at www.dicedesigner.com.

Back to Landing Page

--

--

Samuel Cohen

I am a guy from Pittsburgh that is passionate about 3D printing and history. I went from coding projects and consulting in school right into the startup world.