Fulfillment Process for Dice Designer

Samuel Cohen
3 min readJul 29, 2020

--

My name is Samuel Cohen and this is how I single-handedly designed, developed, and launched a website where you can customize a die and have it 3D printed in 30 days. Below is a business update post. If you wish to read more about the project, the landing page is here.

With my shop system built and my product ready to go, I started to formulate my process for receiving and fulfilling orders. So let’s go through the process together.

Below is a video showcasing my rationale for determining colors and price. If you want a more in-depth look into the process, continue reading.

Fulfillment Overview Video

Die Designing and Purchase

Since the business is built on custom dice, we can start with designing a die. The designer lets you choose from 9 different colors. Let’s use a die with an orange base and green dots for this example.

Orange Die with Green Dots

Once they are done with the design, they hit the checkout button on the right-hand side.

Cart Screen

From this screen, they can see the colors of the dice they ordered and the price. The shipping will be calculated from their current location later.

When they hit checkout, they are taken to the billing screen.

Checkout Screen

From here they enter any necessary information and tax is calculated from their current location.

The customer will then receive an email with their order confirmation and invoice.

Receiving Orders

The process for order fulfillment is currently manual. When a customer submits an order I receive an email that contains the product information and a shipping label is generated.

From that point, I can prepare to create their customized die.

Printing

Each die is currently 3D printed with 2 colors. In order to complete an order, I would start my 3D printer and insert the filament that corresponds with dot color.

Prusa MK3S

Once the dot color is loaded, then I run the file that prints the dots, In about two minutes the built plate looks like this.

Printed Dots

Then I load the filament that corresponds with the base color and start to print the base. In the end, the plate looks like this.

Final Print

From there I take a connector piece that was printed separately and connect the dice together. At the end of manufacturing the dice looks like this.

Finished Die

Shipment

Since a shipping label was generated when the customer made their purchase, I can have shipping materials prepared. Using post-office packaging for first-class I insert the dice into a small case and attach the label to the package.

Then I take the product to the post office and have it shipped.

Conclusion

Within a period of about an hour, I can fulfill an order. I can improve efficiency drastically by automating certain things like color changes or having dice pre-made.

Since this is the final business post, you can go back to the home page or check out the website with the links below.

Check Out the Website at www.dicedesigner.com.

Back to Landing Page

--

--

Samuel Cohen

I am a guy from Pittsburgh that is passionate about 3D printing and history. I went from coding projects and consulting in school right into the startup world.