The awkward date that didn’t end

There’s nothing more awkward than having to sit next to someone after a bad date with them.

Samuel Dunsiger
4 min readFeb 14, 2023
Photo by Bernard Hermant on Unsplash

In 2014, I was on every dating app known to humans because I was looking for my future wife.

OKCupid, Hinge, Bumble, Tinder, Plenty of Fish, Craigslist, Kijiji. Okay, maybe not those last two.

Soon after, I met a girl on OKCupid, and we had hit it off. For the sake of privacy, I’m going to refer to her by another name, so let’s call her Colleen. Colleen and I started to chat on OKCupid, and we ultimately decide to go out.

Now, I’m going to interrupt this story with a related tangent. Anyone who knows me knows that I have social anxiety. For years, it impacted my romantic life as I found myself struggling to be myself. I avoided many social situations, including dating. I felt like I had put up this wall that prevented me from getting to know other people and others from getting to know me. And my date with Colleen was no different.

Anyways, that was some needed context, so let’s get back to the story.

One snowy evening in February, Colleen and I decided to meet up at Aroma Espresso Bar.

I was like a scared little chipmunk wanting to crawl back into its hole. I was just quietly sipping…

--

--

Samuel Dunsiger

Freelance writer, storyteller and educator. Disability and accessibility advocate. Amateur teller of jokes and comedy writer. Strongly dislikes produce bags.