My Daily Journaling Ritual for a Peace of Mind

A life-changing routine that has kept me grounded and clear-minded

Samuel Tan
4 min readJan 21, 2022
A journal opened to the middle of the book.
Photo by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

I’ve never been a “journal-down-your-thoughts” type of guy for most of my life.

It wasn’t like I had anything against it; it was just that I couldn’t see what benefits it could possibly bring me.

In fact, I didn’t even know that such a thing even existed until a few years back when I chanced upon Productivity YouTube Channels (like Matt D’Avella) and people like Ryan Holiday discussing about journaling and the benefits of doing so.

As my mind started to become more cluttered with thoughts because of #adulting, I figured: why not try this journaling thing out? After all, if it doesn’t help me in any way, I can just drop this practice any time I want.

So I went on Google Play Store, downloaded the first journaling app I saw (Journey), and began my journey of journaling!

Journey app interface.
Photo from MobileAppDaily.

My daily journaling ritual

Throughout the day, whenever I have difficulty making a decision or feeling as though I’m starting to get ahead of myself, I…

--

--

Samuel Tan

Striving to be the best version of myself while inspiring others to do the same! 👊🏻