Implementation of Waves of Us

Sana Maqsood
3 min readFeb 21, 2024

This past week I worked heavily on getting the implementation for my Biofeedback installation art piece. I started off my brainstorm names for the piece, since the piece involves two people and is about brainwaves I came up with the list below and landed on the name Waves of us.

From here, I also started to work on the branding, and the overall write up off the about/bio off the piece itself. For my demo, I would like to have all these pieces ready to go to share with the students and faculty.

For the branding, I started exploring these two color palettes:

From there, I have started to write up the instructions that I will have in the space for the users to be able to follow. I will work on completing this part for the demo. I will use one of the branding from above to write out the instructions and might even have an recorded element which users can then play from a iPad.

As for the space, I started touring the spaces and understanding what technology I have available to me. I am in between two spaces right now, I have a space with 4 projectors and screens all around but I would need to share that space with other students, vs another space which gives me one projectors and screen then I have to set up 2 more projectors with fabric backdrops. I am looking to finalize the space this week and will hopefully be using it for the demo on March 8th. I will finalize that this week I will also need 2 projectors for the demo on March 8th.

Some other materials I need for the final are: mirrored mylar for the floor, pillows, and speakers. I am hoping to finalize all this in the next 2 weeks.

Now moving on to the technical part, I completed testing the script for P5JS and Max pad for 2 headsets data with set of 4 people 2 at the same time. What needs to be fixed is:

  • To include whose the data on which headset is it pulling from
  • Fix the bridge
  • Figure out why the headset is being disconnected

Some trends I found during testing are:

  • As participants are watching scary movies/clips they’re theta waves are increased
  • As participants are talking or chatting they’re delta waves are the highest
  • As participants close there eyes they’re alpha waves are higher
  • Participants that choose the music had a higher alpha, beta and gamma wave responses to it

Some other next steps I need to complete would be to map these to colors and then get this connected to the projectors for the demo day. I will need to also test out the projectors for the demo day.

For the demo, I have decided to just play one song snippet I created. This will then change depending on the intensity of the waves or the types of waves that are showing up.

I will need to continue to work with Craig Fahner to get the mapping completed along with Samantha to get the projectors ready for the demo day.

--

--

Sana Maqsood
0 Followers

Graduate Student at NYU | Founder of SOOD | UX Designer II at Amazon