Active listening gives you a better understanding

Neelam Tariq
2 min readSep 22, 2016

--

I really was not a active listener, I always intrept if someone was talking to me. Many time I use to listen from my friends or even from my parents that first carefully listen what we are saying then give answer. I really tried to make corrections in my habit but unfortunately I did not find anything that could help me. Then I take a course on nonverbal communication and realize how important for me to listen actively.

I tried to be silence as much I can and try this exercise, I really feel it helping while someone is talking to me. I also tried to do mixer exercise, after this mixer exercise I noticed that how much beautiful the nature is. I use to get to the park and try to hear the sound of birds even leaves when they wave in air. It was really nice. I realize the importance of active listening.

But this active listening is not limited to me I tried to apply RASA with my family and friends. When they talked to me I try to listen to them very carefully and also appreciate or advice them that this is the way they want to be. When I was learning something I tried to ask questions also to make my perception more clear. I really feels a difference after taking these exercises. Really active learning improves our understanding.

--

--