The Reality Of Asylum Seeking in the United States.

Sandra Villarroel
9 min readAug 28, 2019

(1st leg of the trip back home to Pittsburgh: McAllen TX > to > Dallas.)

I spotted a family of 3 asylum seekers traveling to NJ, and we began talking.
You can easily identify traveling migrants by their yellow envelope and the shopping bag they carry their stuff in.

envelope asylum seeking families are given at the respite center, to help them in their journey | Photo by Sandrachile, courtesy of Worth Manifesto

I emptied my backpack, and offered it to them, along with my blanket. They thanked me.
I asked my new asylum seeking friend how long they have been traveling.

– Thirty-Two days she said.

Her name was Ivy, and she is traveling with her husband, and their 1 year old, who’s tired, and seems to be running a little fever.

Ivy is an engineer. She worked for 4 years in a company that processes sugar, the sugar used by Coca Cola.
They also owned a video game business.

Basically, they owned multiple TV’s hooked each to a video game consoles, such as Xbox, Wii, or others like that; and charge hourly to whoever wants to use them, providing locals with the opportunity to play a game that they can’t afford to own.

I worked most of my college years in internet parlors that used the same concept, so I’m familiar with this system.

--

--

Sandra Villarroel

Immigrant, formerly homeless, ex undocumented, a lil Christian, photographer, charity founder, zero waste wannabe.