Sandy Douglas
2 min readSep 28, 2016

Did you know that your words can change a person’s whole day and even impact their life? A simple compliment could lift someone’s spirit and make an awful day brighter just as a cruel word or an insult could tear their spirit down.

As a person who was bullied, taunted and teased as a young teen, I can tell you that the words someone speaks into your life can truly have an impact on you. It contributed to me growing up with low self esteem and body image issues. The words spoken permeated through my heart and had a very lasting effect on me that could have destroyed my life.

I was headed down a dangerous path and had God not sent the right people, to speak life into me at the right time, I may not be alive today. The words of love and encouragement spoken into me began to break the chains of self condemnation. I began to see my potential, my self worth, and a purpose for my life. Having a purpose pulled me from a pit of despair and helped build me up to become the person I am today.

I pray that you will think before you speak and watch your words. Be a life builder not a life destroyer.

Which will you choose to be?

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit…Proverbs 18:21

Sandy Douglas

Believer 👑 Dreamer 🌟 Wife, Mom & Nana ❤️ Aspiring writer🖊 Nothing’s impossible💎 Never give up!💪🏼