Revamp Binar Academy App

sandy wahidiat
3 min readOct 18, 2021

--

Background

Binar Academy is a Bootcamp platform for supporting career development, well known as a course that always supplies the best talents for the tech industry needs. They want to improve, which is in need of a more responsive application design to fulfill this purpose.

Task

Created some new features to support users during the Bootcamp that were not previously available in the Binar Academy app.

The Process

In this case study, I use design thinking framework as a tool in the process. Design thinking is a human-centered approach to integrate a product to provide possibilities and user needs.

Source: MAQE

Research Goal :

Discover new features that are needed by users.

Method :

According to the research goal, I decided to conduct this research using the evaluation method

Emphatize

I created a persona called Sugandi which is inspired by my empathy map and gave the basic information, a bio, personalities, goals, pains, and needs.

Define

I created POV by combining needs and insights and generated HMW according to POV.

Ideate

Based on the POV and HMW that has been made, I brainstormed potential solutions for each HMW as much as possible.

Decide

I created a flowchart according to my previous ideation and solutions.

Prototype

I created a set of mid-fidelity and high-fidelity responsive wireframes. For high-fidelity wireframes, I created using a design system library from Binar Academy.

Validate

I conducted Usability Testing to make sure the structure and interaction are comprehensive to complete a user task, also to find out pain points and confusion or hesitation that need.

Iterate & Final Design

Based on the result of Usability Testing, I found something to improve from the user's feedback. I considered using improvement that is most related and has more impacted.

--

--