Alternatives

Possibility Mindset — Day 50

Sangam Napit
1 min readJan 7, 2018

I recently visited one of my favorite walking paths along the river.

To my surprise, the river was flooded and an easy stroll along the Mississippi was not to be had.

I almost filled up with discontent. I was forced to negotiate my plans as my expectations had been shattered by massive rain upstream in Cananda.

Why was it subconsciously easier to be disappointed at my circumstance instead of being excited about the alternative?

It’s difficult to get excited about the unknown, the uncertainty.

A lot of energy goes into planning.

We learn that every action should have an equal and opposite reaction.

But, when plans disassemble under forces of uncertainty and the results are not equal nor opposite, we crumble.

The alternative, to crumbling, is always better.

The alternative is to long for uncertainty, be excited by new opportunities, desire unknown experiences, and surrender to possibilities.

My alternative was running into a friend I had not seen in 8 years.

To possibilities!

--

--

Sangam Napit

Sharing daily thoughts on adopting an abundance mindset.