The story of how I’m repurposing the project my client ghosted into my own SaaS product.

Sangeeth Joseph - The AI dev
4 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Seeing opportunity in setbacks.

Introduction

Hi,I’m Sangeeth Joseph, It’s the first time I’m sharing a story from my own freelancing career as a fullstack webdeveloper. It’s an ongoing story so we will surely have updates on this one. By sharing this one I mean to inspire you a bit on repurposing the setbacks in life to be successes.

Online document signing web app : https://signscribe.vercel.app

The Story:

Last year this time I had resigned from my traditional software developer job, looking for more meaning in general. 6 months in I had learned a lot of skills and even won prizes at multiple AI hackathons. Creating and hosting multiple webapps from scratch gave me the confidence to pursue freelancing. And I started meeting potential clients, I was not yet an active member on upwork, one of the potential clients wanted me to build an online document signing webapp for them.

Their requirement was that they needed an easy way to send their forms digitally to be signed by their clients and to be stored for easy access upto 10 years.

We had a meeting agreed on the budget and requirements. It was my first freelance project, I was excited! I worked the whole month, putting all my waking hours into it. We had meetings later on and things were going good. I finally finished the project and hosted it. I was proud of my work. I gave the demo to the client and they liked it. They told me they’d test the app out on their side and let me know. And that was it, heard from them no more..

How it goes

I had no time to wait on that project and I knew there was no use on repeated attempts of trying to reach out. I soon started on upwork and went onto my land my first gig on upwork after applying here and there with good bids and genuine cover letters. But recently I saw that old project folder on my laptop and I thought to myself, it’s such a decent work and I had spend a lot of time and effort on it. I’ve started calling it SignScribe
and revamped the whole UI, I’m adding new features to it in my free time ranging from bulk send to ready to use form templates.

Signscribe online document signing form editor

I’m soon planning to launch it as my own SaaS product. Online document signing is a market with multiple big competitors like DocuSign, PandaDoc, SignNow, etc the list is long. If I honestly had started with selecting the idea for my own SaaS I would have been intimidated by the competition and let go of this niche. But since this a a repurposed SaaS, that option was never there.

signscribe bulk send option
Signscribe online document signing ready to use templates

The Key Selling Points I’m targeting

I’ve kept the UI as simple and elegant as possible by me now. I’m also thinking of adding in AI form creation and other good features before I launch the product. Even now the product is completely usable but I’m aiming at providing all the extra features this niche can ask for like API integration, custom branding, attachments in form.

The key idea is to make the app so all encompassing for the use case that there wouldn’t be a need for any extra work outside the app for handling the forms. And just I like wrote in one of my previous articles incorporating AI is one sure way to have an edge.

Thanks for reading till now. I’m Sangeeth and I’ll be making this as a series on medium with subsequent parts to show the ups and downs on this journey of creating this SaaS that solves a pain point of companies in sending , signing and maintaining records of forms.

Some key areas where I see Signscribe providing value:

Healthcare:

  • Streamlined consent form signatures.
  • Efficient medical record approvals.
  • Paperwork reduction, enhancing workflow efficiency.

Legal:

  • Simplified contract management.
  • Timely client agreement processing.
  • Accelerated legal document signing processes.

Education:

  • Digital signatures for consent forms and permissions.
  • Paperless approach for administrative tasks.
  • Enhanced security and organization of official documents.

Real Estate:

  • Quick and secure signing of contracts.
  • Lease agreements made easy through digital signatures.
  • Streamlined signing of property-related documents.

Insurance:

  • Optimized policy approvals.
  • Accelerated claims processing.
  • Efficient client agreement signing.

HR and Employee Onboarding:

  • Streamlined employee joining agreements.
  • Quick and efficient signing of onboarding documents.
  • Simplified HR-related paperwork.

You can try out SignScribe at : https://signscribe.vercel.app

--

--

Sangeeth Joseph - The AI dev

Read my stories for free at: https://www.devbrook.com/blog Python|developer🚀| AI Enthusiast 🤖 | Entrepreneur 💼 | Stay ahead with the latest tech updates! 🌟