USA Rail Journey: Day 4 — Omaha

Sanjay Huilgol
2 min readJun 24, 2016

--

I had a good night’s sleep yesterday. Frankly, the AirBnB accommodation was so many times more comfortable than my Brooklyn apartment. At around noon, I set out to explore the city. Omaha is a quiet little city on the banks of Missouri river. I went to the Heartland of America Park.

Heartland of America Park (Google Stylized Pic)

I was wandering aimlessly, when I bumped into this.

ConAgra Foods HQ

Interesting thing is, I did not know Omaha is the headquarters of ConAgra Foods. I thought Omaha is only about Warren Buffett and Berkshire Hathaway.

I also took a walk across the Missouri river and crossed into Iowa state.

Later in the afternoon, I went to the Durham Museum. Durham Museum was previously a train station. It houses vintage cars, train engines and a variety of other artifacts.

I walked around the Old Market area and visited the famous Spaghetti Works for dinner.

Old Market Spaghetti Works

I am now in the Union Station waiting for my train. I will be reaching Denver by morning.

--

--