USA Rail Journey: Day 7 — Glenwood Springs

Sanjay Huilgol
3 min readJun 27, 2016

--

I woke up early in the morning. My AirBnB host had warned me about the parking problem at Hanging Lake. I left at 7 AM and by the time I reached Hanging Lake by 7:45, the lot was full. I was 3rd in line and found a spot in 15 minutes. The drive to Hanging Lake is amazing. It cuts through the Glenwood Canyon and the sky high mountains are majestic to watch. Since I was driving, I could not take many pictures or enjoy the scenery to the fullest.

Exit 119 has no name. Literally!

The hiking trail is not that difficult. It’s a moderate trail and takes about 3 hours to go up and come back down. It’s a rocky trail along a stream.

Once you reach the top, the view is awesome. There is a small lake which is formed by a water falls.

After coming back from the hike, I went to the hot springs pool. You are not allowed to enter the hot springs pool. I just stood in front of it for about 5 minutes. I had a sauna bath!

I am spending the night at Glenwood Springs and catching the train to Salt Lake City tomorrow.

--

--