Introducing wall mounted dining table with folded system.

Santhosh Narayanappa R
6 min readDec 12, 2023

--

SECTION 1: INTRODUCTION

To improve the experience, I began by designing our living room and dining area in order to create a new product.

As soon as I started designing my living space to improve my experience, I realized it was completely incorrect since I lacked a clear declaration and explanation.

So let me explain you what all the journey and how i created my product that is wall mounted dining table with extendable study table.

SECTION 2: PRODUCT FINAL SOLUTION AND EXPLANATION

My prototype of creating a wall mounted dining table where the user had a space issue and where the user don`t have a separated dining area in the living room, it is the best prototype for the user.

This wall mounted dining table made up of wooden ply board, one end is fixed on wall with two number of hinges and another end resting on two legs and also this table had a expandable drawer like a study table. So it is a multi-purpose dining table.

SECTION 3: CORE PROBLEM

Now, why wall mounted dining table required for the user? What made me decide on it? My users facing a lot of problem, but many of users facing a common problem, that is spacing issue for keeping dining table in living room, that table acquired a lot space.

SECTION 4: HOW I STARTED WALL MOUNTED DINING TABLE

To start the interview process I am going to repair a bunch of questions. I am planning to interview with peers.

Initially when I was preparing a question it’s very challenging also asking these questions with my peers. It is very difficult for me. After started the interview later on I felt confidently asking a questions and enquire certain aspects.

After interacting the interview with my peers start getting interview notes and user insights. All of my users don`t have a separate dining area, they are using living room as a dining area. The main reason was space issue and some of them need space for decorate the living room and the users wish to hanging the wall frames.

So, I finally realized the common pain points that is kept in a dining table don`t have a space. So I have to decided the wall mounted dining table with foldable and I did a prototype on it.

SECTION 5: WHAT ARE THE MISTAKES I DID IN MY INTERVIEW AND WHAT I GOT INSIGHTS FROM THE USERS?

I had to start with interview for which I had prepared bunch of questions to the different users and i writing down all kinds of questions that came on my mind related to the living room.

Living room as a common area for the every user most of the time spent in living room with their family members and relatives some of the users had a nuclear family and some of the users living with a joint family.

Some of the users like to decorate the living room and they had to talk with their family, relatives. The users with their family sit and watch the TV together they spent a lot of time around 3–5 hours on daily basis.

Some of the users like to keep dining table easy to serve the foods and comfortable to sit and eat on dining table but, users don`t have a space this is the major insights, I got from the interview with my peers.

Here, how I rephrased my questions.

After getting the insights from the user living room area, I created a user journey, after I had the journey of the users I thought it would be easy for me to note down all the pain points / problems of each user faced. Then I do find the surface level problems.

After that I prepared the users journey, once again I visited the interview notes and I found some opportunities where I can improve the experience of the user then I noted down the insights.

Here how I identified the common root cause from many different problems.

So after the interview with my peers, many of them saying space issue that is we don`t have space in hanging the photo frame, we had a decorative things don`t had a space and many of the users commonly saying we don`t have a separate dining area because of the space issue. So I concentrated on more that problem only, then I had a confidence to move onto the users pain points.

SECTION 6: TESTING

Here is how I had my prototype and tested it with users.

I started the sketching on my papers, product of I had in my mind. I had to draw in multiple solutions of sketches to solving the space issue. Then I had to planned on wall mounted dining table with expandable drawer, that expandable drawer also using as a drawing table.

I mainly concentrated on solution of the space acquired on dining table, so I finally got the solution that is one end is fixed on the wall with support of hinges and another one is supported on 2 legs. This table completely made up of wooden material and that expands drawer also used for dining and drawing table. Both the way users can use the table.

I thought I was in the right direction. I had to test my prototype with my peers / user for their feedback, when I was presented my prototype and user journey sketches with brief explanation, then I received a suggestion from my peers.

One of my user suggest a expanded drawer, because in single space of the table can`t able to fold the table so better one end side give a provision for expanded drawer it`s helpful for drawing table.

SECTION 7: FUTURE SCOPE OF TEH PROJECT

Finally the future of the project, before saying the future of the project I realized that no one product can be perfect, I make as excellent as possible. If I have time and opportunity to work on this project.

Here`s what I plan to do:

* Still have an ideas in my modular design of the product.

* I gain extra knowledge of the materials that is durable.

* Now it is manually operated. It is not possible for all the users. I decided to automatic open and folding system.

SECTION 8: ACQUIRED KNOWLEDGES IN THIS ENTIRE CASE STUDY

This case study build a confidence level in better understanding of the users problem. How I solve the users pain points.

* When I was started this course, I had a lot of confusion and I am poor in English knowledge. Now I realized that how interested this and I would like to thanks to Growthschool and mentor as Anudeep for their valuable guidance throughout this journey.

Thank you for reading and also do let me know if you did not like anything or is anything could be improved or just any general feedback for me is very much welcomed.

You can connect with me at santhoshnr4world@gmail.com

THANK YOU….

--

--