project 1: yoga 100

sandra chang
4 min readDec 16, 2023

--

Idea

I’ve embarked on a 100-day project from Aug 29 to Dec 6, illustrating a daily yoga pose for my design studio class! This inspiration struck from my near-daily 10-minute morning yoga routine. 🌞

Why Yoga

Three reasons led me to choose yoga as my project’s theme:

  1. Daily Yoga Practice
    I opted for yoga as my subject since it aligns with my daily routine. As per the teachings of Atomic Habits, merging this with my daily habits seemed fitting for a 100-day commitment.
  2. Abundance of Yoga Poses
    The plethora of yoga poses meant I wouldn’t run out of ideas to draw each day.
  3. Exploring Procreate
    Although comfortable with Illustrator and pen tools, I wanted to leverage this project to step out of my comfort zone and enhance my skills using Procreate, which I hadn’t explored much.

Process

Posting my progress on Instagram became a daily motivator, keeping me accountable and deterring procrastination.

⭐ Follow my daily progress on Instagram :) I paused updates after day 85 though.

My process generally involved finding an image online, sketching a draft, and refining it with details.

Around the midterm check (day 42), I began contemplating my final presentation. I considered creating a poster, depicted below:

Reflection

Upon completing all 100 drawings, I took a step back to review and analyze the outcomes.

Drawing Time

My drawing time reduced from 40 minutes to merely 15 minutes per illustration! Initially exploring various styles, I eventually found a faster, consistent approach. Early decisions play a crucial role!

Artistic Consistency

Comparing my drawings from days 1 to 10 with those after day 65, I noticed a marked improvement in consistency, leading to increased speed.

Establishing Systems

Despite early caution, I faced hurdles, like not setting a color palette. This led to color indecision until day 20. Also, planning all 100 poses upfront could’ve prevented repetitive poses.

Start at the End

Approaching the final presentation, I initially considered a poster and cards but abandoned the idea due to pose names omission. Planning the final outcome from the project’s outset eases the process.

Evolving Interests

Around day 40, monotony crept in. Brett’s advice about choosing something enjoyable made me consider more dynamic themes for future projects.

Other Insights

Cultivating Habits

Completing the 100 days felt immensely fulfilling. It reinforced the power of forming positive habits, as emphasized in Atomic Habits! 😆

Inner Dialogue

Drawing and yoga share a similarity — they provide moments of focus and mental decluttering, a break from daily hassles.

Conclusion

Time has flown by! Starting this project at the semester’s beginning and concluding it feels like reliving the entire semester’s journey.

Through this endeavor, I’ve gained confidence in overcoming obstacles that come my way.

Thank you for accompanying me on this creative journey.

--

--