Noah Kahan: New Indie Artist On The Block

Sara Tilly
3 min readAug 27, 2017

--

Photo: Noah Kahan’s Official Facebook Page

Some time ago, actually in March this year, I was browsing the internet in search of new music like I usually do. However this time it was different, I was in Beijing, the internet connection was pretty bad, I had a ton of work to do and I was waaay behind my music-discovery schedule.

And usually, when you least expect to find a miracle and you’ve abandoned all hope, I stumbled upon Noah Kahan’s track “Hold It Down”. Once I head it, I couldn’t let go.

I literally had no idea who the man was, never before heard his name or any of his tracks. Now, almost six months later he’s my favorite indie artist and my discovery of the year.

Noah Kahan — Hold It Down

So who the hell is Noah Kahan? Remember his name. This 20-year old songwriter is gonna be big. Big, I tell ya.

Kahan’s debut single was “Young Blood” released in February, 2017. Supposedly, it was written in only 30 minutes in a remote location in Vermont, on one very cold winter’s day and it does indeed sound like it just came pouring out.

Noah Kahan — Young Bloog (official track)

Noah Kahan has everything you could possibly want from an Indie artist writing honest gut-wrenching songs that you can relate to. And I’ll tell you one thing, his songs are gonna hit you like a ton of bricks. In a good way, of course.

The raw power behind his lyrics is mesmerizing, especially since they are accompanied by an acoustic guitar.

“And if you want I can tell the truth,
That this life takes a toll on you.
I spend nights stitching up the loose threads of my soul
And in the morning I’m bullet proof.”

You know the feeling when you have so much to say and yet again all you can do is just open your mouth to let a silent scream?

I feel like this song was one was of those moments. Whether this be the case when your a young musician working towards your first gig, writer trying to make it in the big world of journalism, or just about on any career path in hopes that the life you’ve chosen, and made sacrifices for, is the right one.

As for “Hold It Down”, it’s like marching through the broken soul aftermath wondering how you still find the strength to keep it together. Then you hold it down.

“When real life ain’t nothing but anger and doubt,
And failure’s a stranger we all dream about,
I hold it down, I hold it down”

Then on July 30th Kahan released “Hallelujah” and announced it on his Facebook page. There was a 30 second preview song on SoundCloud. I remember that day clear as if it were yesterday, I was lying on my bed and the moment I heard the first few notes I fell in love with that song. From that day, whenever I hear the word hallelujah the first thing that pops in my head is no longer Jeff Buckley’s Hallelujah (no hard feelings) but rather Kahan’s soft voice hiding behind a guitar.

Listen to this second verse in “Hallelujah”:

“ Most days we lay awake and count the dirty tiles on the floor. Sometimes the sunlight we find makes the day worth while.”

Noah Kahan — Hallelujah

The thing with Kahan’s music is that you can’t stop listening to it. Once you hear a new track, that’s that, you crave for more. You anticipate what’s coming next. You wanna be on that bus, on that journey with him wherever he may take you.

Let the journey begin…

P.S. Thank you for giving us amazing music. Wish you lots of luck!

--

--

Sara Tilly

Technical Writer| B2B Tech Content Writer| Music curator | Emergency medicine and tactical medic geek 🩺🚑