Vote for Their Lives

Sara Alvarez Kleinsmith
2 min readMar 28, 2018

--

A quick note on why I support Chris Perri for Congress…

As a mom, I’m feeling a lot of hope today. This past weekend, we witnessed the power of protest in our nation’s largest cities. Thousands marched on Washington, with kids from Parkland, Florida and all over the country speaking out against gun violence to preserve their right to safety in schools. It was an event that gave me renewed optimism as an American, but most especially as a mother.

I’ve been in despair about mass shootings and our lack of common sense gun laws since 20 first graders were murdered at Sandy Hook Elementary, 5 years ago. Since becoming a mother, my despair has turned into urgent concern and outrage. I felt incredibly motivated after the Parkland shooting to do something. I wasn’t alone. I attended a Moms Demand Action meeting, the week following the shooting. It was packed. People were being turned away because hundreds came to the chapter meeting. It was incredible. The momentum in the room was palpable. I was surrounded by other parents, as enraged and concerned as I am. We had the opportunity to hear candidates for Congress speak, prior to the primary election. For me, Chris Perri was a clear standout.

What I see in Chris, what I saw at that meeting and what I’ve seen in the time I’ve known him, has been unrelenting energy for real and revolutionary change in our politics. As a mother, I can no longer support candidates for elected office that waver in their ideological stance. Our political system is so corrupt that we need to send representatives to Washington with conviction, energy, and boundless enthusiasm for the fight ahead. We know from decades of being a nation run by special interests, that the odds are against us. The stakes have never been higher. American children marching in the streets for their right to live. They need advocates in their parents, in their teachers, and in their elected officials. They marched for their lives, now we need to vote for their lives. I’m for Chris Perri because I know he will fight for real and lasting change. At this time in our history, there can be no other kind.

I work to ensure the health and safety of my son every day. And I know that when Chris Perri is in Congress, he will too.

--

--