Star Wars: A Comprehensive Analysis/Review

Preamble:

Sarah Sunday
Media Authority
3 min readFeb 13, 2016

--

I’m a Star Wars fan.

I wasn’t excited for Force Awakens coming out, though. Because of this, although I had liked the movies, really enjoyed the shows (Clone Wars is the BEST and Rebels is pretty good), and loved the LEGOs and toys, I thought that maybe I wasn’t a true fan. Everyone was hyped up to 11 and I was just chilling out at a 3, so maybe I wasn’t actually a fan. This is easy for me and others to believe, because I don’t typically get outwardly excited about anything, nor really…passionate. I’m a reserved person in that regard. Cold, maybe.

Anyway.

Then I was possessed by the desire to see the movie in the theaters, which I hate going to categorically. I had already known the major spoiler, ’cause I don’t really care about such things. But I did eventually go to see the movie.

After immediate viewing, I thought it was ok, with some really good parts and some really cliche parts. Opinions changed. I spiraled. The movie made me think about a lot of things. Star Wars related. I was inspired to rebuild my LEGO Imperial Star Destroyer. I rediscovered my fan status.

Returning to those roots, I was compelled to re watch all the other movies. This desire was pushed over the ledge from just considering it to actually doing it when I got my hands on the entire series in blu ray (Rey). Because with a 4K tv, anything else just doesn’t cut it.

I watched the Original Trilogy and then the Prequel Trilogy.

I broke each episode down into likes, dislikes, and general conclusion, then a overall trilogy conclusion.

Here are my ‘looks’ at them. Read them in whatever order.

And, finally, my The Force Awakens review/analysis here:

Ranking the Movies

And now for the part that gave me the most grief. Movie rankings. This is a list that can change from viewing to viewing, and depending on 8/9 and the anthology films, if I feel like including them. But this is my current rankings. It’s a bit all over the place.

My ranking of the movies:

  1. Empire Strikes Back
  2. Force Awakens
  3. Revenge of the Sith
  4. Phantom Menace
  5. A New Hope
  6. Return of the Jedi
  7. Attack of the Clones

Justification:

This was tricky. They each have good parts and bad parts, and ‘weighing’ them out so to speak was incredibly difficult.

Attack of the Clones goes on the bottom, because the pacing is horrendous, and even though the last 20–30 minutes are awesome, the romance is terrible and all-encompassing. The sand, though.

Shocking and infuriating people, is ROTJ at 6. Why? Ewoks. Pacing. It was boring at so many parts and while I do enjoy much of it, I can’t get over how messy it feels. It doesn’t hold well.

As for spots 4/5, taken by Phantom Menace and ANH — they kept switching as I did this so. I like Phantom Menace. And I like A New Hope. But they both have issues. I’m still not pleased with how they are ranked. I don’t want to tie them, but they are very close to me.

Episode 3, is well, spot 3. Isn’t that nice how that works out? Yeah. It has problems. But the actions scenes are great! Jedi getting slaughtered is exciting! Grievous! Coruscant! Palpatine vs. Yoda! Obi-Wan being cool! VADER!

And where things get shocking. As much as I complained about Force Awakens initially, I’m still obsessing over it. In the good ways. The characters intrigue me greatly. The special effects please me. I’m pumped for the future. So it gets the 2 spot.

Number one goes to Empire Strikes Back. Why? ‘Cause it’s awesome.

So there are my rankings of the current films. Feel free to argue with me or flame me. I’m here to defend myself and change my mind constantly.

Conclusion AKA Last Words

It’s Star Wars.

If you bothered to read all of that, I appreciate you greatly. Thank you.

--

--

Sarah Sunday
Media Authority

Short bios are a waste of time and I don’t post here anymore