My book ‘His Lingering Perfume’ got a great review!

~ Sarah D ~
3 min readDec 2, 2023
Photo Credit: Unsplash

And to tell the truth, the book was rated 5 stars! I wrote this book about a year ago, and it has been the best thing that happened all year. The book centers around the antics of a tomboy who has an overnight glow-up when she meets a special someone. The book also has diary excerpts, and tales of a secret lover coming into her mansion through a secret route.

“Who says awkward people can’t be Lovers?” goes the first line of the little novelette. I happened to be in the mood to “write a book” since a lot of people I knew were raving about doing this.

So, with no experience and armed with the knowledge of a free writing course I found online, I spent close to 9 hours writing this tiny book. The book was published about a year ago, and this is a review written by a prominent Indian book blogger.

In his review, Kevein Mallik, who rated the book 5 stars, has used words like “heart-warming” and “steady romance” in his review To tell the truth, as a new writer, who only had a little experience writing short stories on Wattpad, I never dreamt that my book would be ‘liked’ by its readers.

He also used words like “fluffy” to describe the book, and “offbeat romance”. He also technically described the book as “Sweet and Engaging” and felt for the characters.

He goes a step further when he admits in his review that he feels a degree of “affection” for the character’s “love journey”. When book bloggers use terms like this, it means they found that the book had engaging content.

video made on canva by author

Here’s a little video I made for the book on Canva. I used words from Keveins Review, and I know that will probably get people to want to read the book.

The book, which I think I wrote a little about in a previous blog entry, seemingly has depth and a story. Though I did not invest in writing much of a ‘mind map’, didn’t write a plot, and just went with the flow, people liked the book. Here’s an excerpt from the book, just so you know what you are in for

Photo is a screenshot taken by the author

And as the rainbow does sometimes have gold at the end, and God is also wonderful, I did manage to complete the book. My first book I attempted in fits and starts, sitting at my laptop in the dead of night typing away, looking straight at the screen in my pjs, and eating salted nuts. I honestly hope more people read, and like the book. It really is the best thing that happened since all of last year.

Here’s a link to another blog post about my book, since I do like talking about it on Medium

A few short stories on Medium by me that you might like:

. There was More to the Librarian

. A Different Sort of Magic

. A Human Touch for Stanley

If you’re feeling like it, you could show me some love ❤ and add to my tip jar

Have a Great Day!

--

--

~ Sarah D ~

| Read my Short Fiction Stories | I'm a published Author|