Critical Making Project Exploration

Research Phase: An overview of how UX manifests in beauty and fashion.

Sarah Cohen
4 min readFeb 18, 2019

In my last Critical Making post, I made a mind map of all of my interest areas. They ranged from education to theme parks. After some consideration, I decided to narrow my focus to the fashion and beauty industry so that I could explore a passion of mine that other classes don’t touch on.

As I began to research, I realized this would be no easy feat. There are several ways technology has bled into this industry, I could easily spend weeks on research alone. In order to wrap my head around it, I decided to do an overview of the industry as it stands today.

Who are the important players?

There are a few different types of organizations involved in this space: large agencies, small agencies, tech companies, and fashion/beauty companies.

Players in the Beauty and Fashion UX Space

What is happening?

Although the areas overlap, I was able to identify some UX categories within this industry.

AR Experiences

AR is everywhere. It is being used to try on everything from diamond rings to hair dye. Modiface even developed a tool to try on cosmetics directly from the browser.

Giorgio Armani in-browser AR Tool by Modiface

One of the most creative AR experiences, also by Holition, is a “Steal the Look” concept that allows consumers to snap a picture of a model in an add and then see how the same makeup would look on them in real-time using AR.

Rimmel’s Steal The Look Diagnostic Tool by Holition

AR Mirrors

Amazon Mirror

A subcategory of AR Experiences is Smart Mirrors. These mirrors use AR technology to place images of products over the user, but instead of using a screen as a viewport, a mirror is used. These mirrors are popping up everywhere. In 2018, even Amazon patented a mirror that would allow users to try clothing on virtually at home.

Bourjois Blended Reality Mirror by Holition,

My favorite magic mirror, however, has to be this one by Holition for Bourjois. I am very intrigued by the idea of blending digital and physical realities: in fact, doing so is my ultimate career goal.

Body and Facial Scanning

As facial and body scanning becomes more advanced, beauty and fashion companies are developing tools to create custom experiences.

For example. Sephora and Pantone’s Color IQ tool uses a hand-held spectro-colorimeter to recommend shades of foundation that match the customer’s exact skin tone. Even more custom is Lancôme’s Le Teint Particulier Custom Foundation, which analyzes skin tone and then mixes a unique blend of pigments in store to perfectly match the user’s skin, hydration level, and desired coverage level. There are over 8,000 possible shades, wow!

Similarly, Modiface has developed technology that can detect micro-features of the face, like iris size and skin texture. Using AI, the tool can recommend and analyze skin care products.

When it comes to fashion, several companies are exploring how scanning can customize fit. 3dLook generates 24 measurements from pictures of the user and then allows the user to virtually try garments on with AR. Another company with similar technology is ZOZO, who uses a specialized suit to take 3d measurements of the user's body.

3dLook taking measurements of a user with the phone camera.

Misc.

This serves as my miscellaneous category. Many stores are using tech and UX principles to create a more special or unique shopping experience.

For example, here is an interactive window display (again by Holition, those guys are killing it!) created for Hermès in Beijing.

Hermès Window Display by Holition,

I plan to update this post with other great projects and insights as I continue my exploration, but this is a great starting point. In my next post, I will share my project ideas and discuss how they might develop throughout the semester.

--

--

Sarah Cohen

Experience Design Student | CMCI Studio, CU Boulder | Inspired by good coffee, sunny weather and passionate people.