Exploring VR + Final Project Concept

Sarah Cohen
4 min readMar 10, 2019

--

Critical Making Blog Post #3

This week, I dove into Unity and my journey learning VR/AR. This is what I learned:

  1. VR is hard.
  2. There are so many assets available for free, just never the ones you need.
  3. If I won the lottery, my first purchase would be a better computer.

This good news, is I think I have landed on a final project concept.

Inside a Sugarfina Store

I decided to do a project for Sugarfina, a luxury candy-store with adorable branding. Originally my concept was to do a virtual candy land full of all of the adorable treats, but when I landed on their website I cam across this.

They currently have a collection with Barbie, which is extremely adorable and well thought out. I love the cause behind this collection, 100% percent of net proceeds benefit StepUp, a mentorship program for girls.

There are 6 candies in the collection, each paired with a classic barbie throughout the decades: Original 1959 Barbie-Birthday Cake Caramels, 1965 Astronaut Barbie-Cosmic Sours, 1975 Athlete Barbie-Gummy Kicks, 1995 Firefighter Barbie-Candy Pearls, 2011 News Anchor Barbie-Strawberry Sparkle Pops, and 2019 Pilot Barbie-Candy Clouds.

All 6 of the Barbie inspired candies.

Immediately my concept became to have different “rooms” or areas for each barbie. After some further development, I decided to make an in-store pop-up tasting experience that worked with VR to deliver an immersive branded experience.

As I mentioned earlier, I was having a hard time finding the assets I wanted for a perfume or beauty experience, but I did have slightly better luck with candy. I couldn’t find anything on the Unity Asset store, but I found this great article with 50 places to download 3D objects and was able to find some there.

Candy Chair from 3dsky: https://3dsky.org/3dmodels/show/candy_chair_white_and_blue
Gummy Bear from Sketchfab artist Paula1221965 https://skfb.ly/6Iq7L

In addition, most of the shapes in the Sugarfina Barbie Collection will be easy to 3-D model myself. I think I will be creating my own 3D assets for several parts of this project. The things I cannot find (for free or minimal cost) and am worried about making are the barbies and a base environment.

An awesome 3-D Model I wish I could afford from Tornado Studio on Turbo Squid https://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/3d-barbie-doll-classic-01/1128201

I started exploring in Maya to create a 3d model of a barbie. I found this female form for free on Turbosquid, and might use it as a base, adding my own textures, clothing and hair. I did try this out, but I failed and need to find a tutorial.

Female For, by Danyaliftikhar on Turbosquid https://www.turbosquid.com/FullPreview/Index.cfm/ID/1233570

I also found this awesome unity extension which allows you to create faces from pictures. I have only played with the demo, but did download the extension. I am currently unclear on how to install it. Here, I uploaded this image of Pilot Barbie on the web demo.

Another option I am exploring is downloading the trial of Character Creator 3 by Reallusion, which looks awesome, and has built in animation features. The problem is I don’t have a Windows machine, so I would need to work that out.

As far as the environment, I have no idea where to start. Do I build a room in Maya? Do I need to pay for a starter environment? I am totally unsure which option to chose.

So, how is this project going to play out?

In my next post, I plan to do some sketching for each barbie, then pick one to focus on. I will design her room in VR and then go from there based on time. I will either mock up the other five or continue to design them. I also plan to do some UX work to determine how this would actually live in a store.

--

--

Sarah Cohen

Experience Design Student | CMCI Studio, CU Boulder | Inspired by good coffee, sunny weather and passionate people.