Stop, Collaborate and Listen (to your devs)

Sarah-Jane Morris
Future Vision
Published in
2 min readMar 27, 2019
His hair is glowing. I’m sure this is copyrighted by Vanilla Ice or something.

As I started to put this post together, something hilarious and borderline weird hit me… there’s a perfect anthem for what I want to share today:

Why is this (very) early 90s jam by the artist born Robert Matthew Van Winkle so perfect? A few reasons:

  • It immediately lets you know how old I am
  • I spoke at a virtual workshop on April 17th for Vanilla
  • I recently moved back to very ICE-y Montreal
  • The first two words of this song (“alright” doesn’t count OK?): The virtual workshop I’m speaking at is all about how developers should Stop (and) Collaborate… with each other in their communities
  • … And Listen is the name of the developer community consultancy I just founded after years of building inclusive developer communities for tech companies!

While I didn’t actually subject folks to Vanilla Ice on April 17th, here’s what they learned by joining us:

  • How do you encourage dev to dev support from day one of community building?
  • When to jump into developer community conversations, and when to lay low
  • Approaches to monitoring and engaging with proprietary developer communities (online communities, docs, etc) vs. external developer communities (Stack Overflow, Reddit, etc)
  • Stories of successful developer community collaborations: from bug fixes, to hires, to business building

This workshop should be especially interesting to folks who work with developer communities. If you’re in a developer relations or developer advocacy role definitely watch the recording now! However, anyone who works with developer communities will get something out of this.

If you’ve got a (dev community collaboration) problem, I’ll solve it:

Anything you wanted me to address in the workshop, but I missed? Hit me up!

--

--