Clapped-out

Sarah K Goldsmith
2 min readJan 18, 2018

--

by Sarah K Goldsmith

My heroine!

So, the latest figures are in and members can see just how many dollars their claps have been magically turned into. I have to admit to feeling pretty disappointed and majorly confused by my earnings.

My latest poem attracted a modest but healthy 503 claps. I wondered if that might lead to a modest but healthy amount of cash. It actually raised $10.

Now, this has confused me. One of my most successful stories attracted 1K claps and brought in a little over $100 (enough to make a poor writer smile). So I was kinda thinking that seeing as 500 is half of 1000 that I might be on the way to a nice little sum. Nope!

And then even more confusing is another story of mine attracted 300 claps, but I earned $27 for it.

I emailed the powers that be at Medium and was told the discrepancy with my measly $10 poem was because “non-members had responded”. Except there were only 3 non-members who had applauded, so that explanation just doesn’t apply.

Much as I love writing, there’s bugger all point in slogging my guts out for $10, which will actually only give me £7.

It all just seems a tangle of confusion. I know that this whole Medium Program thing is still finding its feet, and the volume of locked posts and paying members is growing, but it surely shouldn’t be hard to maintain some kind of consistency.

Sigh, sigh and thrice sigh!

--

--

Sarah K Goldsmith

I cherish words, loathe prejudice, abhor bullying, adore books, and just wish we could all be a bit kinder to each other. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0731RHKST