Kurchak on Kurchak: An Interview With The Author of “I Overcame My Autism And All I Got Was This Lousy Anxiety Disorder”

Sarah Kurchak
11 min readApr 18, 2020
Autistic author Sarah Kurchak, Photo by Jenna Marie Wakani

She wrote a book and all she got was this lousy pandemic.

Under normal circumstances, autistic author Sarah Kurchak wouldn’t mind staying at home. That’s where the freelance writer spends most of her time, anyway. But she had plans to occasionally leave the house this April. That’s because she was set to launch her first book I Overcame My Autism And All I Got Was This Lousy Anxiety Disorder with a series of events and interviews that required things like the existence of media that covers anything other than the pandemic, gathering in groups, and the ability to go outside at all.

Instead of giving up, though, this resilient young-ish inspirational figure has thrown herself into alternate methods of promotion, talking to her therapist about how she knows she shouldn’t view this as yet another failure in a long line of failures and proof that she will never amount to anything ever, and dreaming about giving up. We caught up with Kurchak in her home office, where she has been busy not thinking about all of the interviews and appearances she’s lost, not dwelling on what could have been, and not crying.

Sarah Kurchak: I’d like to start by clarifying something. In the disclaimer at the front of

--

--

Sarah Kurchak

Author of I Overcame My Autism and All I Got Was This Lousy Anxiety Disorder (April 2020, Douglas & McIntyre). Covers autism and pop culture. Loves wrestling.