The two most important days.

Sarah Lamb
5 min readMay 24, 2018

The first day.

During my first semester of college I skipped a childhood development class because I was finding out I was already developing a child without finishing the class. I was 18 and my boyfriend was 17. It was NOT planned. Most good things aren’t. At four months we went in to find out what the gender of the baby was. Casey insisted me ‘made’ it a boy, so naturally it was a girl. I had already written out ten first and middle name combos. Casey picked Madeline Grace.

My pregnancy was mostly great, but then as soon as I moved into the third trimester and stopped craving bananas I went into labor. When I went into the hospital I was 8 weeks early. After four days of trying to delay my labor and coming in and out of consciousness to tell my parents to shut up and yes the Office is a good show and Michael Scott is trying his best, the medicine stopped working. They gave me steroids to develop Maddie’s lungs. Then after three pushes Madeline was there.

June 19th, 2008 was the first day of my life. It felt like an hour before I could hold her, but it was only a few minutes. They needed to make sure she could breathe. She was so small. Her little fingers were twigs. Her face has no fat. They handed her to me and she looked at me. That was when I stopped being Sarah and started being mommy. It’s the best thing that has ever happened to me…

--

--